Search Unity

Animating a self-created animation with Mecanim properly.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by rjdfhorn2006, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. rjdfhorn2006

    rjdfhorn2006

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    141
    I have a character rigged and animating using Unity's mecanim system. If I create an animation (like a sword swing), is it a good idea to use that animation with Mecanim? I created a simple hands up animation where my character lifts their hands up, but when I try to use it with mecanim (with loop pose enabled), the animation doesn't look right (the hands don't come up all the way, so it looks like he is just rotating his arms in small circles). Any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  2. Pirs01

    Pirs01

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Posts:
    389
    Totally new to animations and Mecanim but since threads in this forum don;t seam to get answered I will go ahead and take a guess.
    Is your animation itself looped correctly before you imported into Unity? I mean is last frame matching first? If not then applying loop in Mecanim would probably produce some crazy results.
     
  3. TonyLi

    TonyLi

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Posts:
    11,588
    Make sure your rig is configured correctly. In the FBX inspector, on the Rig tab, click on Configure.... Verify that the skeleton is mapped the way you expect.
     
unityunity