Search Unity

Animated Maya fbx export with joints in Unity

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by maccer, May 8, 2013.

1. maccer

maccer

Hi,

Apologies in advance for how basic this question might be. I'm trying to export an animated Maya model (animated by rigid binding skin) to FBX for use in Unity. When opened in Unity, the FBX (2011) file does not look proper at all.

I've managed to go through the process of importing animated fbx models to Unity already, but they did not involve joints.

Here is a look at the problem: http://i.imgur.com/za1sIJW.png

Any help would be appreciated, I am VERY new to Unity and would really love anything you have to offer.

Thanks,
    Maccer

2. proandrius

proandrius

Unity Technologies

It's hard to understand the problem from that screen but:

1. You need to bake animations from Unity (by checking checkbox in the import settings).
    2. Try using maya binary save file (mb,ma) in Unity, see how they looks like.
    3. Don't trust preview window, drag object in the scene in see how everything looks.

3. maccer

maccer

1. So while baking the animations I should be selecting both, ie. exporting all?
    2. I've tried with both maya and fbx files and unfotunately I'm getting the same thing!
    3. Same in scene as in the preview window. Interestingly those polygons that do seem to work, when viewed in the animation preview in Unity will animate.

One thing I suspect I may have buggered up was not freezing transformations for polygons before animating them in Maya.

Also a quick note: If there is a way of removing joints but keeping the polygon animation in Maya, that would suit me well- as this is the only animation the model needs. Worst case scenario I could remove the joints and re-animated using polygon rotation but I would rather avoid that!

4. proandrius

proandrius

Unity Technologies

Try these things:

In Maya:
    Edit->Delete All by Type->History
    Edit->Delete All by Type->Non-deformer History