Search Unity

animated fps weapons

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Mister-D, May 28, 2015.

  1. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    working on it
     
    siblingrivalry likes this.
  2. A0101A

    A0101A

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    192
    Mister-D likes this.
  3. BuckeyeStudios

    BuckeyeStudios

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Posts:
    104
    I will attach a file for adding bullet hole or any decal to a skinned mesh for free. We use it bullet holes only right now but should work on anything. Give me 2 days then Ill be back home for a few and will upload then.
     
    hopeful and Mister-D like this.
  4. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    really? awesome man!
     
  5. LazyPoet91

    LazyPoet91

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    There is another "game" on google play using your weapons. However it's bad, no it's horrible. I searched for your asset pack in the hope to find another Android game using it. Shame that Virus Infection 3 is not gonna be updated soon...

    Edit: Its called Real Trigger FPS Hunting
     
    Mister-D likes this.
  6. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    yes , i would like to see some other games using the pack.....:rolleyes:
    ive added a download link of a build of the current demoscene for everyone to try out. its in the first post of this thread
     
    LazyPoet91 likes this.
  7. LazyPoet91

    LazyPoet91

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    A suggestion for the ballistic shield: Could you do it like in Rainbow Six Siege? It's very smooth in that game.
     
  8. ikojp

    ikojp

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    I would also like to see the shield a little bit taller, so that it covers more from the body. I am currently making a mutliplayer fps with your weapon pack and the shield is a little bit too small to be effective.
     
  9. llJIMBOBll

    llJIMBOBll

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    561
    You can use quickedit to make then shield a bit bigger, by procore
     
    Mister-D likes this.
  10. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    i get your points about the shield. ill adjust it in an update. but it wont be soon as im short on time and want to update some other packs first.
     
  11. wheelbarrow

    wheelbarrow

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Just a quick question: I have both your fps weapons and sniper animated assets, and after the last update I'm hoping/assuming both fps controllers are using the same scripts for movement and damage etc...how do I call damage to my sniper? The enemy bullet makes an "apply damage" call, but it doesn't register, so what call specifically will do damage and register with the ui and trigger the camera damage effect etc.
    Cheers.
     
  12. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    hi,
    yes the setup is the same
    damage is called from the "raycastfire" script the message should be "Damage", its the same to hurt the player
     
  13. wheelbarrow

    wheelbarrow

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Thanks for the quick reply. I now have my sniper making the grunt sound when he is hit, but it's still not being reflected in the health level in the ui, nor am I getting the damage effect - my sniper damage script is on the 'playercontroller'; any suggestions? Here is the line on the bullet: hit.collider.SendMessage(Damage,damage,SendMessageOptions.DontRequireReceiver); which seems ok to me, yet only a grunt when hit.
    Cheers.
     
  14. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    ah, my mistake the function also requires a float
    try something like this
    Code (CSharp):
    1. hit.transform.SendMessageUpwards ("Damage",50f, SendMessageOptions.DontRequireReceiver);
     
  15. llJIMBOBll

    llJIMBOBll

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    561
    Hi, I'm gonna try to make a weapon skin system and i'm wondering if you had a blank albedo texture of the weapons I can use or photoshop template. Not to worry if you dont wanna release the sources i fully understand, but i'd thought I'd ask anyway.

    Cheers Jimbob

    edit! Not to worry I used procore and uv editor to get the outline of each weapon :D cheers anyway man
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2016
  16. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    hi
    its all substance painter files wich are really huge. good u fixed it ;)
     
    llJIMBOBll likes this.
  17. 99thmonkey

    99thmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    522
    Ooo, substance... that would be nice to have a link to download the substances. Unity can use Substance files.
     
    llJIMBOBll likes this.
  18. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    substance yes
    substance painter files not
     
    llJIMBOBll likes this.
  19. llJIMBOBll

    llJIMBOBll

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    561
    Amazing work on the new Ghoul man! Any word if Tripod will get updated? I will gladly pay if you release as a new asset :D :D :D
     
  20. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    ah did u buy it? glad u like it.
    well, the plan is to slowly update my free packages to payed ones. im almost finished with "overlord" asset.
     
    99thmonkey and llJIMBOBll like this.
  21. llJIMBOBll

    llJIMBOBll

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    561
  22. 99thmonkey

    99thmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    522
    That's fun
     
  23. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    haha thats tacticool!
     
  24. wheelbarrow

    wheelbarrow

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Another quick question Mr D: I downloaded your free test scene for the previous version of this asset (great scene btw), but something odd happened when I placed my fps controller - the whole GUI was pushed over to the right of screen for some reason - even the damage plane is off, let alone the reticle; any idea why this would happen? I dropped the controller into a new empty scene, and all was well. I fixed it by dragging everything over until it was centre again, but not an ideal situation, obviously - any ideas? (I had to place the reticle at -85.5 on the x axis to centre it again). Thanks.

    Cheers.
     
  25. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    this happens if the root object of the GUI is not at zero axis. place the fps controller root at absolute zero axis so x 0 y0 z0 and also zero rotation
     
  26. unicat

    unicat

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    Wonderfull asset, having a little problem with the Player Controller skript. I changed the jump sound and it is always playing twice. After going back to the old jump sound i hear it is playing two times too. How can i fix this ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016
  27. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    strange, is the audio source set to loop?
    (edit)
    doesnt matter if it is set to loop it should only play once as i used "playoneshot"
    the jump sound section in the sript starts at line 382 , try adding a" if (!myAudioSource2.isPlaying)" before the call.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016
  28. unicat

    unicat

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    413
    Tried it, plays always twice. But only if i walking or running, not on a stand jump. Curious :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016
  29. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    sorry but i have no idea whats causing it, works fine in my scene, and my scripting skills are not so good to see a possible error.
     
  30. b4c5p4c3

    b4c5p4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    537
    Today i thought of something that can be added to this great package to make it even better and that is some Melee Fist Fight animations.

    Maybe you could add in an update or as an add-on.
     
  31. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    hi @b4c5p4c3
    good idea
    id prefer as an addon as the package is really large to adjust and resubmit.
    im only planning to update the current pack if there are script errors due to unity version upgrade or if i have better scripting knowledge and can improve the coding.
    im currently working on update for ww2 weapons, and allready have some other models i would like to submit, but after that ill make that addon.
     
    b4c5p4c3 and A0101A like this.
  32. A0101A

    A0101A

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Posts:
    192
    That's something to do with the scene, eg. you may have some elements of your Player (or complete Player) duplicated...i would first check my Player, in a brand new, clean scene...than, i would check his prefab, fully expanded, in that new scene...Also, on the days when everything works ok, make always one backup prefab of your Player, and call it Player_SAFE, for the cases (days) like this. :) You can also (if you have) put in that scene: an older version of your Player, and try that way...etc... So,
    NEVER use only one version of your most important prefabs, or PROJECT...(have them backed up constantly)...and ...Make at least 2 copies of entire project, (as read only), every week, at least,
    and that - on 2 different disks, that are NOT in your computer, or connected to it...
    This right now will be happening to you ALL the time. (it's how game design works) :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
  33. b4c5p4c3

    b4c5p4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    537
    It's nice to hear that. Right now i'm scratching my head because i'm using your models for a demo and as none of the weapons have a melee attack i don't know what animation (or anything) to put in the case the player need to fight in melee range while reloading the weapon.
     
  34. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    ive made fist melee animations(check zip file)
    merry christmas to all
     

    Attached Files:

    Hikiko66 likes this.
  35. b4c5p4c3

    b4c5p4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    537
    WOW. The best christmas present i could ask for.
     
    Mister-D likes this.
  36. 99thmonkey

    99thmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    522
    hope you add to the normal update
     
  37. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    your welcome! would love to see the demo your working on when its done ;)
    yes i will
     
  38. b4c5p4c3

    b4c5p4c3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    537
    Today i had a moment of inspiration and after struggling with this issue like forever i finally was able to get the model to animate in 3rd person.




     
    TooManySugar, 99thmonkey and Mister-D like this.
  39. TooManySugar

    TooManySugar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    864
    Hi there.

    I'm seriously impresed by this asset.

    Some question. WHat you need to make this work a 3d character or the hands?

    Or in other workds, with just a complete 3D character is enough or you need hands and 3d character?

    How much incompatible is this with unity 4.7.2? I've a fully working project in 4.7 and the upgrade would be a deadly pain. plus I would lose lightamps etc so 5.x is not an option for me.

    The only anim I dislike is the rpg one, the load function should be more like:


    Do you use physics bullets? raycast? particles?
     
  40. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    hi there

    the package uses a seperate model for the arms(legacy anims) and character.
    i have not tested it with unity4 , scripts will obviuosly not work but the fbx files should import fine. so it wont work out of the box but the art assets will do fine. i also think u will need to lighten the color maps as unity4 is not pbr, u can do this by adding a bit of the specular map to the diffuse in photoshop(or gimp, ...)

    u want the rpg reload to be less fast? thats doable. im planning a small update for the pack this month so ill adjust the rpg anim a bit ;)

    i use a raycast
     
  41. drewradley

    drewradley

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3,061
    This is an awesome kit! Don't know how I missed it for the past year or so since I have been looking for a kit like this. I would like to see a few more generic animations in there like climbing a ladder/rope, pushing buttons, opening a door, running, etc. Sent you an email to that effect as well - but figure here maybe others will have suggestions of additional animations. But even without these, this kit is simply awesome!

    Thanks for making this kit!
     
    Mister-D likes this.
  42. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    hi
    i replied to your mail
    im going to add those "generic" animations in the next update(climbing, button push,etc...)
     
    drewradley likes this.
  43. drewradley

    drewradley

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3,061
    That's awesome! Thanks! I figured a bare arms version would be too much work (from email) but there was always a chance you had them already.
     
  44. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,766
    This a truly fantastic pack. Great work.
     
  45. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,766
    The asset store says demo scene included. Is that the scene that is shown in the video?
     
  46. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    tnx

    yes video is from demoscene
     
    magique likes this.
  47. TooManySugar

    TooManySugar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    864
    Hey Mister-D, what about the issue with the mouse speed in the playable demo? I tried again in after reboot and mouse look is exxxxtremelly slow.
     
  48. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    ah
    maybe my mouse is too sensitive. :D
    u can easily change mouse speed in the package thru the script
     
  49. Mister-D

    Mister-D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,566
    fpsw 3.1
    small fixes
    some sound improvements
    added longer rpg reload
    improved weapon normal maps
    added melee fists as extra weapon for ranged weapons.

     
    SteveRyu likes this.
  50. TooManySugar

    TooManySugar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    864
    Yay! improved rpg load!. Dude but the hand shouldn´t be in the other side? it looks a bit ankward. I man the face palm should face.... your face and the outer side of the hand to the outshide... may be I'm wrong but felt a bit ankward. Still much better!
     
unityunity