Search Unity

Bug Android signature causes apk mismatch after upgrade project to Unity 2019.4.18f (from 2019.3.0b6)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by EnjiRouz, Jan 20, 2021.

  1. EnjiRouz

    EnjiRouz

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I just upgraded my Unity project to Unity 2019.4.18f from 2019.3.0b6.
    I'm trying to build my Android app with the SAME keystore, but I get this when installing:

    [INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE: Package signatures do not match the previously installed version; ignoring!]

    The CERT.RSA files from the old and new apk are REALLY different (28 strings with the old Unity vs 33 strings with the new Unity). Problem appears only when I use Unity 2019.4.18f.

    Is that a bug? What should I do?

    I can't just reinstall the app because it's in the Google Play Market.
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,726
    There's a few ways of signing an APK, I think called v2 and v3. Perhaps Unity has silently switched you over. There should be a setting in the Player Settings Publishing section to switch it back.
     
    EnjiRouz likes this.
  3. EnjiRouz

    EnjiRouz

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I checked this out, but that wasn't a problem with signing version.

    The Owner, Issuer and Serial number in CERT.RSA has changed somehow when I use Unity 2019.4.18f
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,726
    Is this a for-real-signed-by you APK or just one using the Android Debug key?
     
  5. EnjiRouz

    EnjiRouz

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I don't know. The sign was made by an old team member quite a long time ago.
    Will these screenshots be useful?

    I see that in the new version of Unity the CERT.RSA corresponds to the keystore. But I have no idea how to make it work the way it did before I switched to new Unity version. As I can see, the app was sign like an Android Debug, and that's not how it should be, but now it's important to find a workaround if possible.

    Development Build
    tick has no effect.

    Screenshot_4.png Screenshot_5.png