Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Resolved Android NDK missing

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by Deleted User, Jun 3, 2019.

  1. odysoftware

    odysoftware

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    84
    its already in 2.2.2 - but you have to reinstall unity so it changes the path ;)
     
  2. BurningthumbStudios

    BurningthumbStudios

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    95
    I used HUB to install the NDK but the Editor did not find it. So I manually selected the HUB installed NDK in the editor preferences. The Editor still complains that it is the wrong NDK version but it did build the .abb and it runs so I guess its a Unity Hub / Editor bug.
     
  3. Pranay1Knight

    Pranay1Knight

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Yes,worked for me.‍:)
    Here is link on YouTube:
     
    chefcom likes this.
  4. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,737
    Same issue.
    Switched the Android project from mono to IL2CPP and it did "required" NDK which was already set...

    Set the default location bu still shows up the warning "You are missing the recommanded android NDK ot the following path :
    Folder "android-ndk-r19" is located there.

    It is working if I set the NDK path to :
     
  5. Fdudka

    Fdudka

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Posts:
    16
    Bug is still present in 2019.2.17f1.
    If you don't do all of this below you won't be able to share with google play!!

    1) Use the HUB and download the up to date version and check all the boxes and sub boxes of Android modules

    2) Go to Unity folder and delete everything inside the SDK folder.

    3) Download old version of Android SDK
    Android NDK, Revision 16b (December 2017)
    https://developer.android.com/ndk/downloads/older_releases.html
    Mac OS X android-ndk-r16b-darwin-x86_64.zip 839630771


    4) Then extract the folder and ONLY add the sub files inside Unity SDK folder

    5) in Unity, Preference-> External Tools -> Uncheck : Android NDK installed with Unity

    6) IL2CPP

    7) Check Build App Bundle inside the build settings


    ps: don't forget you need to set a Keystore key.
     
  6. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,143
    Please make sure you are using the latest Hub version to install the NDK.
     
  7. aquilis007

    aquilis007

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Eu mudei a localização:

    COM ERRO:
    C: \ Arquivos de programas \ Unity \ Hub \ Editor \ YourVersion \ Editor \ Data \ PlaybackEngines \ AndroidPlayer \ NDK \ android-ndk-r19.

    SEM ERRO:
    C: \ Arquivos de programas \ Unity \ Hub \ Editor \ YourVersion \ Editor \ Data \ PlaybackEngines \ AndroidPlayer \ NDK

    Coloquei todos os arquivos na pasta android-ndk-r19 dentro da pasta NDK.
     
  8. OldKing_Wang

    OldKing_Wang

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    same issue with Unity 2019.3.0f6 Hub 2.2.2 Mac

    How to fix:

    1) download ndk19c from

    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/android-ndk-r19c-windows-x86_64.zip -- Windows 64
    https://dl.google.com/android/repository/android-ndk-r19c-darwin-x86_64.zip -- Mac

    2) unzip the file ,and copy the folder to

    /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/(version)/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer/NDK --Mac

    3) change the source.properties at

    /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/(version)/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer/NDK/source.properties

    to :

    Pkg.Desc = Android NDK
    Pkg.Revision = 19.0.5232133


     
    mahdipixel2 and Raghavendra like this.
  9. perza

    perza

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Same issue with Unity 2019.3.0f6 Hub 2.2.2, Windows.

    Fixed by manually setting the path to same NDK install folder that is already used by Unity.
     
  10. Pavel_D

    Pavel_D

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Unity 2019.3.0f6 Hub 2.2.2, Windows, Some Result/Problem, Success if setup NDK (from unityhub) Path to Sub Foulder /NDK/android-ndk-r19
     
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    On Linux I had to do some more steps to get everything running. I put together a video:
     
  12. Raphael-Jeongho-Eom

    Raphael-Jeongho-Eom

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    Thank you @Snitem it works perfectly!
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  13. araz01

    araz01

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    thats not solving it, thats alternative... i need to solve and do it directly, my pc has NO space, i need to use external options to function or else i cant.. Problems
     
  14. ecv80

    ecv80

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Posts:
    28
  15. vpmobisolution

    vpmobisolution

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
  16. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,737
  17. RSH1

    RSH1

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    259
    How can I possibly be getting this error when I've installed the latest version of Unity? Why does the latest version of Unity on the Hub come with the wrong NDK version?

    Which NDK version should I download and where should I get it from?
     
    MaxPirat and HumzaYounas like this.
  18. ahmedbarhom

    ahmedbarhom

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you, I have been looking for a solution for more than two days. My version Unity 2019.3.14f1 (64-bit)
     
  19. ahmedaniss

    ahmedaniss

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    98
    i make video to solve problem :
     
  20. hungf

    hungf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    My Solution, I dont know how it work :v

    On External Tool setting:
    Uncheck JDK
    and
    Check Again
     
  21. JairoGLoz

    JairoGLoz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    After hours of pain and hundreds of downloads this ended up solving my issue. Why is it that developing with unity is such a pleasure but building is such a torture? :(
     
  22. Denzy77

    Denzy77

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Actually there is no need to downgrade unity. Just get the latest ndk. After extraction, open the source.properties file and change the pkg. Version to the exact version unity needs in preference. This should work until unity addresses this or they upgrade to a newer ndk
     
    heartbreakkid1 likes this.
  23. idnie

    idnie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I spent two weeks trying to install the Android build support with versions of Unity so that I could develop Oculus Quest applications. The SDK, NDK and JDK wouldn't install and I couldn't get it to work with paths in Android studio.

    I tried a lot of the online solutions that didn't work for me. I finally got it to work when I realised that the SDK, NDK and JDK were installed when I installed Unity through hubs with the Android Build Support selected, but the full Android
    module wasn't installed so when I went to switch platform I had to install the module again. When I did this a lot of the files in the SDK, NDK folder and the JDK folder were deleted, so I lost the paths to them in external tools.

    I found that if I copied the SDK, NDK and OpenJDK folder to my desktop on the first installation, then copied them back
    after I reinstalled the module copied them back in it worked.

    I also just found that when I installed version 2020.1.0f1 with just the Android Build support selected, including Andriod SDK and NDK Tools and OpenJDK (no other modulues selected including Visual Studio) it installed correctly
    with the right paths to the SDK, NDK and JDK.

    I installed Unity versions 2019.2.10f1 and 2019.3.15f1, and deployed applications to my Oculus Quest. I am using an Asus TUF Gaming FX505DT laptop with Windows 10 Home installed.

    My path to the SDK etc is C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.3.15f1\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines
     
  24. unity_6IDSPOJPyBpWEw

    unity_6IDSPOJPyBpWEw

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks so much man!!!!!!
     
    Zombietron likes this.
  25. sicklepickle

    sicklepickle

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    upload_2020-9-25_23-13-23.png

    Going forward, could it maybe say *which* version it's looking for... if module installation isn't possible via the hub.
    Or is there an updated table somewhere?

    Just spent the entire day and part of my weekend updating a project updating a dozen plugins, patching everything up, gradle templates, manifests, doing backups along the way (and it's ~19gb so multiple backups along the way take a while), dealing with the resolver being broken, patching broken google plugins, etc... and... then... this. It's a bit grating, so every little thing to smooth over the process would be wonderful.

    Thanks =)
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2021
  26. sicklepickle

    sicklepickle

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    upload_2020-9-25_23-29-27.png
    Okay, attempting to install a random older version gives you this feedback.
    So the string + version check is already in there, but just not displayed.
     
  27. Aladine

    Aladine

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Posts:
    199
    this is still not fixed or what ?
    I installed unity 2019.4.11f1 via Unity Hub, and i have the same exact issue :
    upload_2020-9-30_22-2-56.png

    Seems like the installed folders are not even there:
    upload_2020-9-30_22-4-59.png

    there is no NDK, SDK nor Open JDK
     
  28. ShruthiB

    ShruthiB

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, It worked for me
     
  29. rogodoy

    rogodoy

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.3.0a4\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\NDK\android-ndk-r19
    Just rename the folder or create a new folder with \android-ndk-r19
    Press>Build and finish this worked for me.
     
  30. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Google REQUIRES 64 bit builds, if you're a google dev you would have gotten an email about this, can't build IL2CPP 64 BIT, can't deploy to playstore.
     
  31. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Honestly with every update, unity moves away from "The premium indie engine" as they try to catch up to unreal engine as a AAA. I mean seriously, Unreal has what, 20 years more experience than unity? Every update you break my old titles, to the point i just want to leave unity for a more STABLE engine. 3 year LTS means nothing, I mean i've just missed out on 3 game breaking unity updates. If i don't have a current project, using the current unity build, i will literally have no idea what is going on with the engine. Whats the point of updating an engine that relies on other libraries to build our games, if you cant keep up with android builds?
     
    Kogar and giantkilleroverunity3d like this.
  32. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    You have LITERALLY just named the folder you RENAMED, SO create a new folder where?
     
  33. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Deprecated Gradle features were used in this build, making it incompatible with Gradle 6.0.

    UnityEngine.GUIUtilityProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)

    Does this help anyone?
     
  34. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    ARE YOU F***ING KIDDING ME???? Annotation 2021-01-10 040804.png
     
  35. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    I keep all my software up to date, java, android studio, so clearly the bottle neck is unity. Pathetic. I managed to get a link to R19, lets see what happens.
     
    Kogar likes this.
  36. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Nope spent past few hours upgrading, reverting, android studio, java, the ndk and gradle, nothing works, F*** YOU UNITY, this is where i go to unreal.
     
  37. giantkilleroverunity3d

    giantkilleroverunity3d

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Posts:
    385
    I got burned by this 6 months ago. I have given up on this at the moment as I thought MY posts were too rough. I thought I was alone in this debacle. Sorry for your pain. I have 5 projects I am juggling and I can't even entertain the thought of dealing with each and every failure that came about because of updates.
    My solution that I posted on Discord/Archimatix is to create an Oracle VM for each project, make that stable and work/build in there. And yes it is going to take a 2tb drive.
    Unity has expanded beyond their original business model in a trial by fire escapade. What we are seeing now as the only exit plan is to jump out of windows because the highly educated in Unity have careers and not stable products. I download the 2018.3 installer. It installs 2018.4. The new mindset of the current staff is 'I did my part and I throw it over the wall. Let the community figure it out.' Well the chickens have come home to roost.
    Thank God its tax season here. I have a plan B that I am actually looking forward too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2022
  38. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Yeah, well i've just hired a game tester, can't build a game = Nothing to test. But thankyou for the sympathy. All the best
     
  39. Abhishek12392

    Abhishek12392

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    hey just install a newer version of NDK and go to the location of that folder, find the source.properties file and change his version to the version unity said.
    It solved my problem.
     
  40. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    No ,it just works now, a NEWER version of the LTS came out to fix things. look for it in HUB (or you already have it). Why an LTS would need a patch is beyond me.

    Still going to unreal.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2021
  41. andoo001

    andoo001

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Now, I KNOW UNITY STAFF WILL NEVER READ THIS, it only takes 8 people to confirm they have solved the issue for it to be considered closed. NO unity staff will revisit this.

    Still the title will draw new users to read this.

    Unity HUB is the worst thing that has happened to unity. You used to get a dialogue pop up in the unity editor saying an new version for your stream is now available (i.e 2019.2 to 2019.3). Now there are NO notifications. You're just expected to randomly click on the 'Version' button in hub and see the latest releases (for your stream, LTS included OR the following years betas).

    Unity are quite simply advancing into technology they don't understand, and completely ignoring things they SHOULD fix.

    Ever WATCHED unity compile a game (or even import/REimport)? It jumps from folder to folder, in no apparent order, and on an SSD it won't make much difference, but on a spindle drive, the spindle needs to PHYSICALLY jump between these folders to build your project, making it extremely inefficient. I did try to report this as a bug and was told "This is a standard feature of unity, and although unity tries to update it's features wherever possible, this feature works as expected". Poorly.

    I mean seriously, read the first 8 posts of this thread. EVERYONE who considered this problem solved, simply rolled back to a version of unity that worked. GO SEE FOR YOURSELF.

    Rollback IS NEVER A SOLUTION. Its a band aid/bandage whatever you know this phrase to be.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2021
  42. RebelBinary

    RebelBinary

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Yah I've been having this issue for a while, I just copy the missing NDK /SDK from the previous version of Unity when I install a new version. Shame UnityHub can't copy files into folder for some reason
     
  43. madhuavunuri

    madhuavunuri

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks you..its working now
     
  44. Enzoo0o

    Enzoo0o

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2021
    Posts:
    1
     
  45. DhiaSendi

    DhiaSendi

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    upload_2021-5-6_17-43-32.png

    Making sure to tick all the Android Build Support fix the problem for me
     
  46. optimise

    optimise

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,137
    Hi @LeonhardP. Missing SDK and NDK bug comes back again at Unity 2020.3.9.
     
  47. D0raFoxe

    D0raFoxe

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Posts:
    1
  48. Androthi

    Androthi

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This issue seems to be a bug caused by the Unity Hub and still persists in the latest version.
    For me, it occurred when I installed the latest version first, then the stable version. The NDK is installed only in the 2021 folder, and missing in the stable (2020) stable version. Then the NDK folder location defaults to the stable release folder (even when using the 2021 version) which is missing the NDK.

    Solution is to duplicate the NDK from the folder it is installed to, into the folder from which it is missing.
     
  49. DrCalUnity

    DrCalUnity

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I'm using 2020.3.12 and getting this problem. I've downloaded and unzipped the NDK version 19.0.5232133 and pointed to the folder in Preferences but Unity refuses to acknowledge that it's the correct version.

    I also note that not only is this an old, unsupported version of the NDK, but it's flagged specifically as obsolete and unavailable on android.com. Why does Unity insist that it must be this particular version?

    By the way, the NDK folder in the Unity installation is empty even though 'Android SDK and NDK Tools' is ticked in Modules in the Hub.

    Edit: The warning in Preferences is a lie. I just tried a build and run and it worked.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2021
    D_Cergy likes this.
  50. dabdoub_bouda

    dabdoub_bouda

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, I've been stuck for over a week. Now it's working .
     
    binance3980 likes this.