Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Android Build -> Multiple Dex Files Error -> Multiple dex files define Lcom/google/unity/BuildConfig

Discussion in 'Android' started by Deleted User, Jul 29, 2018.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hi!

I'm struggling to create a Unity build for Android (I'm new to Android as a platform). I get this error:

```
    Execution failed for task ':transformClassesWithDexForDebug'.
    > com.android.build.api.transform.TransformException: com.android.ide.common.process.ProcessException: java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: com.android.dex.DexException: Multiple dex files define Lcom/google/unity/BuildConfig;
    ```

I cannot find the source of this problem and I've read through a multitude of stack overflow threads. How do I cut through the noise to find these DEX files and how do I find this com/google/unity/BuildConfig? I can't seem to find information on what com/google/unity/BuildConfig actually is either. Is it a package in the same way that com.example.package is?

Is there any text that I need to read or concepts I need to understand in order to diagnose this properly?

Cheers!

2. JustasKavaliauskas

JustasKavaliauskas

Hey,
    I'm hoping this is Unity bug and will be resolved at some point, because I started getting this error after I updated my project to 2018.2.1f1 Unity version.
    To fix it you can try enabling Multidex, but after I did that, I got stuck on another issue, so I didn't bother anymore and returned to 2018.1.x - which works fine for me.
    Also you could just change Build System from Gradle to Internal (in File->Build Settings -> Build System), which worked for me too, but I wanted to stay with Gradle to have more control, so It made more sense to get back to 2018.1.

divingcrash likes this.
  3. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hey sRn!