Search Unity

Android API level 29

Discussion in 'Android' started by KreizLand, Jul 22, 2020.

  1. KreizLand

    KreizLand

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Posts:
    57
    Google requiremet is API level 29 scince August, but I only have 28 on Unity 2019.4.1f, kinda strange
    External tools:
    upload_2020-7-22_23-46-11.png
    In player settings:
    upload_2020-7-22_23-34-48.png
    If I pick 29 API level:
    upload_2020-7-22_23-48-41.png
     

    Attached Files:

    brucejs777 likes this.
  2. victorw

    victorw

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Posts:
    459
    Try looking in the Android forums for that problem. As you noted, API level 29 appears in the dropdown and should be supported by 2019.4.1f1.
     
  3. Sailendu

    Sailendu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    254
    API level 29 worked for me, I just tried building with Unity 2019.4.3f1, I selected "API Level 29" from the "Target API Level" dropdown in player settings. Then when I started the build, it asked me to upgrade the installed API level to 29, I hit upgrade and it downloaded the API level and build succeeded, checked in the Unity Hub installed folder and the SDK for API 29 is now installed there, then uploaded to Google Play and received no warning about API level 29. I am attaching a screenshot from Google Play console for confirmation.

    Screenshot 2020-07-23 at 2.53.41 PM.png
     
  4. HectorOfPriamos

    HectorOfPriamos

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    I tried as you did Sailendu but in my case I couldn’t upgrade it. I’m using 2020 1.0f1 but no solution
     
  5. Arman132

    Arman132

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I have got this problem in 2020 1.0f1 but when I want to upgrade to 29 API as Sailendu said it doesn't work.
     
  6. realgamingart

    realgamingart

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    In my point of view the Android SDK and Unity do not have the same path. I means your new unity is using Old path and you can not find a way to find out how to this (Even you are seeing the both part are the same) ?? Here is the solution.

    First Uninstall the unity and android SDK then Install the unity from Unity Hub and allow the unity hub to download the android sdk from the scratch.
    And also do not forget to install the important Android SDK tools.

    In my case the things started to work. I hope in your case the things will start to work and you will get the API level 29.
     
  7. kishore_1234

    kishore_1234

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Hi iam using version 2019.4.5f1 and api 29 is showing in dropdown but when i try to set it it is asking for update and i tried to install it is showing installation failed
     
  8. CJSstudios

    CJSstudios

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I have similar issue.
    2019.4.5f1
    API 29 and 30 fail to update.
    Working on fix.
     
  9. CJSstudios

    CJSstudios

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I got a success build, still waiting to see if workable apk.
    I have Android SDK installed in its own folder using the install from Android Studio.
    I went to C:/Android/sdk folder and
    Copy the build tools and platforms into the Unity Hub folder.

    C:\Android\sdk\build-tools\29.0.2
    copy to
    C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.4.5f1\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\SDK\build-tools\29.0.2

    C:\Android\sdk\platforms\android-29
    copy to
    C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.4.5f1\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\SDK\platforms
    to give you
    C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.4.5f1\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\SDK\platforms\android-29

    Then select API 29 in Unity Player Settings and build, it shouldn't ask you to update your API and successfully compile.

    Not sure of the after effects yet though.
    Use with caution.
     
  10. CJSstudios

    CJSstudios

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Upload to Google Play is successful and August API 29 deadline warning has been removed.
    APK runs as expected after compile.

     
  11. kishore_1234

    kishore_1234

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Posts:
    8
  12. anisimovdev

    anisimovdev

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    On MacOS Unity 2019.3.7 successfully updated API to 29.
     
  13. KreizLand

    KreizLand

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Posts:
    57
    I had to install Android Studio to get Androind SDK Manager (could find it anywhere else) then I installed SDK level 29 via Manager and copied some folders (missing build tools and platforms) from Android Studio SDK to Unitys SDK - it works for me.
     
    PuddingEntertainment likes this.
  14. jumadiazgranados

    jumadiazgranados

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I ran the sdkmager.bat on a Windows console (as administrator) located in C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.4.6f1\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\SDK\tools\bin. The typed command was sdkmanager "platform-tools" "platforms;android-29" "build-tools;29.0.3" and API level 29 got installed. Unity built the android app normally.

    For more info about running the sdkmanager https://developer.android.com/studio/command-line/sdkmanager

    The error for update on Unity seems to be related with administrator permissions for file writing on Windows.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020
  15. joepeijkemans

    joepeijkemans

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Will this also work for Unity 2019.1.7f1? I'm experiencing this same problem rn
     
  16. jumadiazgranados

    jumadiazgranados

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I guess, because it is updating the android sdk independently. Search the path in your Unity version.
     
  17. bigbrainz

    bigbrainz

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    177
    Hmmm . . . after accepting the agreement for installing Android SDK Platform 29 in 2019.4.6f1 I get an error: "Warning: Failed to read or create install properties file."

    Ah. Had to run Command Prompt as Admin. Probably if I had Unity running as Admin it could have done it as well?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2020
    Pacco1202 likes this.
  18. jumadiazgranados

    jumadiazgranados

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Yes command prompt should be started as Admin.

    And yes, somewhere else somebody made the suggestion of starting Unity as Administrator.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2020
  19. adamstepinski

    adamstepinski

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    57
    Worked when I closed Unity Hub, ran UnityHub as Administrator, opened Android project, built
     
  20. victorw

    victorw

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Posts:
    459
    FYI I split off this discussion from the previous one happening in Unity Cloud Build forums since this all seems to be useful discussion around local builds which deserves better visibility in a forum where it's more likely to be seen by other Android developers and the Android platform team.
     
  21. Pijush-Paldragon

    Pijush-Paldragon

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Worked for me, thanks
     
  22. tanmaykulkarni

    tanmaykulkarni

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Posts:
    104
    Thank you so much, it helped me
     
  23. Flarup

    Flarup

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Posts:
    164
    Thank you very much. Worked for me as well!
     
    jumadiazgranados likes this.
  24. bigbrainz

    bigbrainz

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    177
    Starting Hub as Admin doesn't work for me. Updating to 2019.4.7f1 made me go through the whole command line thing again. Argh.
     
  25. gwuwer-mms

    gwuwer-mms

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Works great, thank you!
    If you are reading this in the future and Unity still did not fix this bug use sdkmanager --list first so you can check what's the newest SDK and build-tools version is.
     
    Pacco1202 likes this.
  26. Liveanimatoinscorp

    Liveanimatoinscorp

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    set UNITY_VERSION= 2019.2.15f1

    set JAVA_HOME=c:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\%UNITY_VERSION%\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\OpenJDK\
    set ANDROID_HOME=c:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\%UNITY_VERSION%\Editor\Data\PlaybackEngines\AndroidPlayer\
    cd %ANDROID_HOME%SDK\tools\bin\
    sdkmanager --update
    sdkmanager "platform-tools" "platforms;android-30"
    sdkmanager "platform-tools" "platforms;android-29"
     
  27. mbowen89

    mbowen89

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Posts:
    639
    Are we able to force it to use SDK 30 yet?
     
  28. misticalages

    misticalages

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    it doesn;t work for me
     
  29. Mr-Wolf975

    Mr-Wolf975

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    What about 2018.4.26f1 LTS?

    I installed manually SDK 29, with Android Studio, and used "Automatic (highest installed)" because, it doesn't appeared in the Target API level list and, it worked, making a build recognized by Google as using API 29.

    But, is it safe? Is API Level 29 supported after all also in 2018.4 LTS?

    Thanks.
     
    sohailciit38 likes this.
  30. musamrc61

    musamrc61

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Hello , I built my game with SDK 29 and publish it on google play. But now just android 10 player can download my game. When I look other new games my second phone (less than android 10) can download new games but not my own game. Why this is happening? and how can I solve it?
     
  31. Romaleks360

    Romaleks360

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Posts:
    73
    Maybe you set the Minimum API level to 29 as well? It is not necessary, only the Target API level should be set at 29. You can set the minimum to 19 or something else
     
  32. AtheMathmo

    AtheMathmo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Has anybody managed to build for target API 29 on 2019.4.f1 ? I've spent a few days now trying to get it working, including the advice here and others. The best I could get was a successful build where my game shows only a black screen (no unity splash).

    This was true even for blank projects. And my game built fine with 2020.1 targetting API 29.
     
  33. lorenzostudiosok

    lorenzostudiosok

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Thanks!!!
     
  34. Phoenix7

    Phoenix7

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    Hello, the same problem by me. I cannot publish an app with Target Level API 28 and when I publish the App with API Level 29, most of the the installed versions dosn't work..I change ONLY the target API and it will not work clear.. :-(
     
  35. charlesb_rm

    charlesb_rm

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    485
  36. misticalages

    misticalages

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2020
    Posts:
    12