Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

An Update on Substance Format Support in Unity

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by ans_unity, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. jingge

    jingge

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Export Substance Materials In Unity AssetBundles Erorr!!

    Unknown Assembly Substance.Game
    UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundles(String, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget)
    AssetBundleBrowser.AssetBundleDataSource.AssetDatabaseABDataSource:BuildAssetBundles(ABBuildInfo) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.assetbundlebrowser@1.7.0/Editor/AssetBundleDataSource/AssetDatabaseABDataSource.cs:87)
    AssetBundleBrowser.AssetBundleBuildTab:ExecuteBuild() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.assetbundlebrowser@1.7.0/Editor/AssetBundleBuildTab.cs:359)
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallDelayFunctions()
     
  2. AcuityCraig

    AcuityCraig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    Hello,

    I am trying to do a Unity Cloud Build to iOS on an AR Foundation project with Substance. Prior to the latest release (2.4.4 was what I had) I was able to get good iOS builds but now I get the following error:
    ❌; ld: bitcode bundle could not be generated because '/BUILD_PATH/<PROJECTPATH>/Libraries/Allegorithmic/Plugins/Substance/iOS/libSubstance.Engine.a(S00_EntryPoints.o)' was built without full bitcode. All object files and libraries for bitcode must be generated from Xcode Archive or Install build for architecture arm64
    286: ❌; clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
    287: ▸ clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)

    If I remove substance I get:
    ❌; Undefined symbols for architecture arm64
    264: ❌; ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture arm64
    265: ❌; clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
    266: ▸ clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)

    if I build in XCode (with or without bitcode enabled) I get:
    Undefined symbols for architecture arm64:

    "_cppCheckDimensions", referenced from:

    _NativeFunctions_cppCheckDimensions_m23DCDF6EBB913EA779654085FCDEB3F2A684D9E4 in Substance.Platform.o

    (maybe you meant: _NativeFunctions_cppCheckDimensions_m23DCDF6EBB913EA779654085FCDEB3F2A684D9E4)

    ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture arm64

    clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)


    ANY help on this is much appreciated.
     
  3. HaimBendanan

    HaimBendanan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Posts:
    28
    @AcuityCraig I have the same problem (when building locally on a mac). Did you found a solution?

    Undefined symbols for architecture arm64:

    "_cppCheckDimensions", referenced from:

    _NativeFunctions_cppCheckDimensions_m14247FD7FD30B3458B666334D27EB16749B6F7B2 in Substance.Platform.o

    (maybe you meant: _NativeFunctions_cppCheckDimensions_m14247FD7FD30B3458B666334D27EB16749B6F7B2)

    ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture arm64
     
  4. AcuityCraig

    AcuityCraig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    @HaimBendanan no I have not. I made the decision to wipe substance from the project, remove its scripting defined symbols from the build settings (player settings > Other settings) and move on to other things till I get some kind of an answer.
     
  5. AlessioRegal

    AlessioRegal

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    hopeful likes this.
  6. chenquanjun

    chenquanjun

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem. Now i cannot build ios app....
     
  7. ARQueue_Du

    ARQueue_Du

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I'm encountering the same issue. Failing in Xcode.
     
  8. wesm

    wesm

    Allegorithmic Community Manager

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    302
    Hello,

    I'm very sorry for this late reply. I missed these notifications on this post. Totally my fault.
    We do have this issues resolved in our upcoming 2.5.1 update.


    Cheers,
    Wes
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2020
    Marco-Sperling and mcbauer like this.
  9. ksam2

    ksam2

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,030
    wesm

    I use Unity 2018.4.20f but please look at below pic why it looks like this when I get close to wall? (It happens for all materials from substance database)
     

    Attached Files:

    • ISPS.jpg
      ISPS.jpg
      File size:
      715.9 KB
      Views:
      22
unityunity