Search Unity

An Animation problem and details of my debugging

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Vasir_, Oct 7, 2013.

1. Vasir_

Vasir_

Hi, so I have an animation problem that's been frustrating me for a few weeks now. This is my detailed debugging step by step. This is also weeks working off memory, so bear that in mind. I'm a programmer, by the way. Not the animator.

When I first used mecanim I watched the Unity tutorial, and downloaded their assets. I followed the steps http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xx21y9eJq1U
    here without problem. This was a great video and it brought me a deeper understanding of animation. I understand how the tree works and how to move from running to idle to jumping and all that.

Now here's where my problems begin.
    My animator handed me the model of our character. He doesn't know how to rig it himself, but he bought software that will auto rig for us.
    So he hands me this rigged model and presto, I place it into the game! I set the model to humanoid and clicked configure. The bone window comes up, I make sure to set it in T pose and all that. Click apply.
    Next, I made the animator controller, produced an idle animation myself from the walk (really just pulled it to a single frame when the user stops moving, since my animator didn't have an idle made at this point.

Awesome! It works. Only I had to turn root motion either on or off for it to work (opposite of the tutorial, I remember that much.) Other than that it was stopping and walking when I moved forward. I was happy.

Then my animator... "The hand isn't moving, and the leg is glitching!" Okay, he isn't happy. I'll try this again. He sends me a new model.
    I repeat the auto mapping and T pose and he, once again, is disatsified because of a leg glitch.

At this point I taught my animator how to use Unity and, following the tutorial, was able to learn how to map bones.