Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Ambient occlusion

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by maartenvanoostveen, Feb 19, 2018.

  1. maartenvanoostveen

    maartenvanoostveen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hey guys, just made a long return back to unity ( from unreal) and have dived into the engine quite fast.

    My biggest struggle so far however is to find out how i can add Ambient Occlusion (A.O) to my scene.
    I've checked several video's on youtube and constantly see people with plug-ins. there is an option under global Illumination (G.I) but for some reason when i check it and play with the sliders nothing happens.

    Did i miss something or am I overseeing something ? I cannot imagine Unity anno 2018 without A.O :S.
     
  2. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    5,576
    You mean baked AO, or some form of SSAO?

    (also AO is overrated)
     
  3. LennartJohansen

    LennartJohansen

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Posts:
    2,178
    Download the free post processing stack from Unity.
     
  4. maartenvanoostveen

    maartenvanoostveen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    but where ? In the engine i went to Assets > Import Package > effects. checked several other packages but couldn't find it. Any form of A.O would be nice ( not pre baked)
     
  5. maartenvanoostveen

    maartenvanoostveen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    either really. Can't get the baked one to work, can't find SSAO ( though i could understand if the lather is a plug-in only)
     
  6. LennartJohansen

    LennartJohansen

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Posts:
    2,178
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/PostProcessing

    Lennart
     
  7. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,408
  8. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    5,576
    Why?
     
  9. maartenvanoostveen

    maartenvanoostveen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    When I enable G.I (this works) make my base cubes (test scene) static the GI seems to work, if afterwards I enable A.O nothing happens, I've been spamming it on and off, dragged the distance slider back and forth but no difference. I though maybe it's because the G.I is dynamic, however when turning dynamic G.I off the G.I is gone and still no A.O.
     
  10. maartenvanoostveen

    maartenvanoostveen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks, I managed to get it working with the official post processing package on the asset store :). Thanks for all the replies.
     
  11. KarolisO

    KarolisO

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    If you're baking GI, you should not use the bake AO option. Ambient Occlusion is a cheap approximation of GI so baking it on top of GI doesn't make sense from a realistic point of view.

    If you need realtime AO instead, use the Post Stack that Mauri linked: