Search Unity

  1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Check out our Unite Austin 2017 YouTube playlist to catch up on what you missed. More videos coming soon.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Ambient Color?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Vire, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Hi there,

    I was wondering how to achieve the same effect I get from plugging in a texture into 'ambient color' in maya's lambert shader. I don't know if there's some term for it, I haven't been into 3d for games for too long.
     
  2. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    I don't know this shader. I'm guessing that you're talking about using greyscale ambient occlusion as a lookup into a ramp. That would be expensive in realtime, and I recommend you bake that into the diffuse texture. A link to the description of what's actually going on would help. Make your own YouTube video if it doesn't exist, but I bet it does.
     
  3. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    That isn't what I mean at all. Here, all shaders in this screenshot are using ambient color.

    I'm trying to make a cartoon visual style and ambient color is part of it. Unity has no 'ambient color' - I'm trying to find out what it calls it instead.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  5. Vire

    Vire

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    Hi there,

    Thanks for the info, I think that's what I was after.

    Model is only 50cm high.
     
  6. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,327
    Unity doesn't have a concept of meatspace units. Your grid is very small.