Search Unity

Am I allowed to install Unity Free on more than one device?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by scriven_j, Jul 4, 2014.

1. scriven_j

scriven_j

Hi,

I am just starting to learn Unity and have installed it on my home machine. I thought it would be good to put it on my laptop too but am trying to understand the licence, I think it indicates that this is not allowed? Am I reading that correctly?

I would only ever need to use it on one device at a time, but it would be handy to have it installed in multiple locations whilst I am learning the ropes so that when I have time I can delve into it without having to cart around a different machine on the offchance that I will find some time on any given day.

Please can you clarify how this works on the free licence? (I am not a legal entity, just a bedroom coder). I cannot seem to find it mentioned in any of the FAQ's and I can't quite understand if I am understanding the licence properly or not?

Thanks!

Jon

2. Mabenan

Mabenan

you can install unity free on every device you want thousand of times :->.

how it is with the pro version i dont know.

3. scriven_j

scriven_j

Thanks Mabenan. Where did you get that information from?

4. makoto_snkw

makoto_snkw

You can install Unity on multiple machine using your free license.
    And you can open multiple instance of it too, if needed. ;P

5. superpig

superpig

Drink more water! Unity Technologies

You're allowed two installs per license, but you can get as many free licenses as you want. So, in practice, you can have as many free installs as you want.

Once you get paid licenses, then you'll have to start picking which machines you want it on.

6. scriven_j

scriven_j

Thanks for the replies. I am just concerned that the licence on installation states:-

(c) Free, Trial and Educational Product Restrictions. If you are using a free, trial or educational version of the Software, you may install the Software on a single computer only.