Search Unity

Am I a Unity Expert?!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Schneider21, Jul 18, 2017.

1. Schneider21

Schneider21

When I updated to 2017.1, I was prompted with a survey asking me my experience level with Unity. I chose Intermediate, because I consider myself a perpetual student. There's tons I don't know (or haven't attempted) like complex procedural mesh generation, effective implementation of multithreading, and shaders (God, the shaders...).

However, the 'helpful' emails I get from Unity now are about basic things like today's example: how to parent objects in the hierarchy.

:rolleyes:

So maybe I know more than I thought I did! I think I'm promoting myself to expert.

On a serious note, does anyone know how I can change the preferences for marketing/tips emails to receive content more appropriate to my skill level? I would still like to get them, just... not the total beginner ones.

ArachnidAnimal and Kiwasi like this.
  2. LaneFox

LaneFox

I think if you publish something at 1.0 you've done more than the majority and qualify as an expert.

Kiwasi, Ryiah and Schneider21 like this.
  3. orb

orb

Some of the other questions had nowhere near enough alternative answers either - what if I'm a part-time Unity developer, or Unity stuff is a minor part of my main business? Need more granular choices, or multiple choice!

I just switch off the mailing lists. They're never what I'm looking for. I've received 800+ messages through July so far, over 600 of them being from various stores I've used, and I don't shop THAT many places. It's crazy how spammy they are. Unity Tech. e-mails just drown in the ocean of offers and news.

angrypenguin and Schneider21 like this.
  4. Schneider21

Schneider21

Agreed. I didn't want to switch them off, as my hope is that there will be useful emails at some point. But I guess if I haven't gotten anything to this point, why assume there will be...