Search Unity

Alternative to Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by Kaneydien, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Kaneydien

Kaneydien

Hi, I'm very new to this whole development scene. I have been watching tutorials and I have noticed people using Photoshop to create textures and import them to unity. I was curious if there are any free programs that I could use to do the same thing that would have similar functionality. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. dway

dway

I ran into the same problem as you, but found a solution. Although its not as advanced as Photoshop, Gimp is a very good program for creating textures.

y01cu likes this.
  3. artzfx

artzfx

4. SteveJ

SteveJ

On MacOS, check out Pixelmator. Otherwise, what these guys said (on Windows) :)

5. Kaneydien

Kaneydien

Gimp looks perfect. Thanks guys!

6. KRGraphics

KRGraphics

There is also a program called Art Rage... heard it is pretty good too...

7. sonialoop

sonialoop

Gimp, Is the best One for desktop application,
    Next one if Pixlr, API one, for browser based photoshop

8. Tiles

Tiles

Gimp is nice, but lacks of some vital functions like the needed bitdepth. Still just 8 bit per channel. Doesn´t open exr. And it is nearly useless at Windows since version 2.8. When you move the image then the display breaks into a thousand horizontal and vertical lines, and it needs several seconds until it comes back. Not a really nice workflow when you half of the time just wait for the picure to reappear.

Another low budget option is Photoline. It`s a bit odd to use here and there. But has nearly everything needed. http://www.pl32.com/

Mh, there is still CS2 as a dowload available ...

9. madelinekim

madelinekim

There are many alternatives of photoshop like GIMP which is good to use for creating texture but not advanced as photoshop. Photoshop is only the best powerful tool for designing a logo or image editing.

10. the_motionblur

the_motionblur