Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Alternative 3D Software

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by login4donald, Jan 24, 2013.

1. login4donald

login4donald

I need opinions on what 3D Modeling Software I should use. I am a 2D artist freelancer and could be 3D if I didn't have the Student Version of 3ds Max 2012 (aka can't sell or make profit off the models I make). So I'm looking for a cheaper solution and easy to get into program. Blender is out of the question. Period. I'm trying Silo which I was recommended but my concerns are it's navigation in the viewport and mapping and other clinks. There probably isn't a better solution then the those two and my choices are limited. But I'd like to hear what you guys use but 3ds Max I jumped into it and I was modelin' away with a day without even help/tutorials but every other one I've used is eh. So yea, any suggestions?

2. SteveJ

SteveJ

How cheap is "cheap"? modo and Cinema4D both some in around the thousand dollar mark.

There's HEAPS of threads on 3D package comparison though. Maybe check out some of the discussion that's already taken place.

3. Trinda

Trinda

Out of curiosity, why is Blender out of the question?

4. login4donald

login4donald

Cheap as in the 200 or lower range. I haven't heard of Modo. Blender is out because as fun as it sounds I don't feel like learning everything all over again and the UI is cluttered to me. I know it's all user preference but for be it just is unusable.

5. hafizmrozlan

hafizmrozlan

If you're using Mac you can consider cheetah 3D, $99 only.

6. SolitudeSA

SolitudeSA

You've got a couple of options.

I would stay away from Silo since it isn't under active development anymore and a lot of people complain of crashes.