Search Unity

Alpha channel not working in Photoshop

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by Essential, Aug 29, 2013.

  1. Essential

    Essential

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
    I've been trying to add an alpha channel to my psd file but Unity isn't recognizing it and I don't know why…

    I've uploaded the .psd here: http://we.tl/SOsNqsc7XW

    Could someone take a look and tell me what I've done wrong regarding the alpha channel, and tell me what they did to make it work?
     
  2. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    850
    Unity doesn't pull the alpha channel from .psd files - it looks for the alpha in the layers (same as with png). TGA is the best format to save as with alpha.
     
  3. twiesner

    twiesner

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Posts:
    309
    For some reason Unity doesn't like the BG Layer. I hid the layer and it worked.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2013
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    That's incorrect; I pretty much only use PSD for textures and it always reads the alpha channel. It does not work the same as PNG at all.

    --Eric
     
  5. Essential

    Essential

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
    Eric, I think I learned this technique from you actually. Whenever I import images with transparency into Unity I just use the original .psd file with an alpha channel to mask it. I then create a background layer at the bottom to help with transparent pixel matting.

    In this particular file though, it doesn't seem to be working and I can't figure out why…
     
  6. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    850
    But but... I have to check this whe I get home, but really? I was so sure... Haven't used them in a project in ages, apologies for any misinformation. *hangs head in shame*
     
  7. Essential

    Essential

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
  8. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    850
    Ahhh... some small measure of relief that I'm perhaps not entirely delusional ;) Glad you got to the bottom of it.
     
  9. IgorAherne

    IgorAherne

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Also make sure that "Alpha Channels" tickbox is ticked when saving the file in photoshop (during specifying the file name)
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
    Mehrdad995 likes this.
  10. JotaRata

    JotaRata

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Posts:
    61
  11. stoofnie

    stoofnie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    haha an answer for 10 year ago just saved my day! The thread that keeps on giving <3