Search Unity

All project's components in hierarchy disappeared after a project is removed.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by neutrino353, Sep 13, 2015.

1. neutrino353

neutrino353

Hi,
    I am new to Unity 3D. I just install the latest Unity3d version 5.2 and try learning it. There is a BIG problem I just found.
    1) I am learning from reading the Standard Asset Example project as well as creating a simple new project my self.
    2) Whenever I remove a created project ( by removing the project directory using window explorer), all the remaining projects , including the Standard Asset Example project (which I only read, never modify anything),
    will have problem that all the components in the hierarchy window disappeared except for the Main Camera and Directional Light.
    3) I've try removing the Library subdir in the the project directory, to force unity3d to rebuild the projects .but no luck. I've to re-install unity3d from scratch in order to have the projects back to normal.

Should anybody advise how to fix or at least avoid this to happen , otherwise it it too dangerous to use unity3d for serious works.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. jhocking

jhocking

geez, this is a pretty bad problem. I have no idea what is happening to you, but for what it's worth:
    this has never happened to me, so it's not an intrinsic flaw with Unity, more like something specific to your setup.

3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I haven't looked at the standard assets example projects since... er... maybe ever? So I'm merely speculating here, but those are probably installed somewhere within Unity's own file hierarchy, and perhaps set up so that many of the files are shared, for efficiency. By deleting one project, maybe you inadvertently deleted these shared assets, causing Unity much confusion.