Search Unity

"All ComponentType must be known at compile time"

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by BackgroundMover, Oct 24, 2019.

1. BackgroundMover

BackgroundMover

When trying to load up some mod code that uses ECS, I'm running into this error in the console:
    The message seems pretty clear and final. Is it simply a trait of ECS that you cannot load up unknown Components at runtime? I'm using the excellent Umod off the asset store, so if its a matter of simply loading things a certain way, I'd be keen to hear it.

Also, is there some example of using generic components and [RegisterGenericComponentType]?

2. rsodre

rsodre

3. BackgroundMover

BackgroundMover

Thanks for pointing me to the example. I'm pretty new to generics but it seems like I can't solve my problem with generics. Has anyone been able to get an IComponentData to load at runtime from a DLL? I believe thats how UMod works under the hood.

4. tertle

tertle

I believe it /might/ be possible if you stop automatic world creation, load your DLLs then setup the world.

Basically you have to load all your components before TypeManager is initialized (only happens once, not per world).

I have not tried this though and this is just from memory looking at TypeManager 3-6 months ago.

-edit-

just to elaborate on this as I have a minute while something compiles.

World creates EntityManager
    EntityManager calls TypeManager.Initialize

While TypeManager.Initialize is called from all EntityManagers, it is only executed once per the life of the app so you can't make changes to this after the start.

TypeManager.Initialize calls a method InitializeAllComponentTypes.

Within this it loops all assemblies in the current app domain, gets all types that inherit from the Entity base types (IComponentData, ISharedComponentData,IBufferElementData) and basically builds a couple of different types of fixed array for fast access in various circumstances.