Search Unity

  1. Get the latest news, tutorials and offers directly to your inbox with our newsletters. Sign up now.
    Dismiss Notice

AI planner v0.2.2 infinite rebuilding bug?

Discussion in 'AI & Navigation Previews' started by ikiable, Mar 1, 2020.

  1. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    I wanted to try out AI planner today, and I got into an infinite loop bug when I enter play mode.

    here's part of the log. is this a known bug? or is it just me?

     
  2. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
  3. amirebrahimi_unity

    amirebrahimi_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    378
    Codegen has been one of our main focus areas for the next release. Unfortunately, it's just something that is necessary to have. We're aware of a few infinite compilation loops and have corrected most of them.

    Can you share a bit more about where you are seeing this? Is this when running our AI Planner samples the "Hello Planner" tutorial or a custom project of yours?
     
  4. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    custom project
     
  5. amirebrahimi_unity

    amirebrahimi_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    378
    In that case, do you have at least 1 trait, 1 action, and 1 plan defined? I believe there is a bug that if not at least 1 of each of those is defined, then it will cause an infinite compilation loop.
     
  6. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    No. The loop happens whenever I enter into play mode or when unity compile scripts.
    I haven't even started using it yet.
     
  7. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    okay so I just did the Assets -> Create -> AI -> (create all the definitions listed) and now the infinite loop is gone.

    I can now enter playmode and edit some scripts without worry.
     
    amirebrahimi_unity likes this.
unityunity