Search Unity

AI planner v0.2.2 infinite rebuilding bug?

Discussion in 'AI & Navigation Previews' started by ikiable, Mar 1, 2020.

  1. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    I wanted to try out AI planner today, and I got into an infinite loop bug when I enter play mode.

    here's part of the log. is this a known bug? or is it just me?

     
  2. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
  3. amirebrahimi_unity

    amirebrahimi_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    389
    Codegen has been one of our main focus areas for the next release. Unfortunately, it's just something that is necessary to have. We're aware of a few infinite compilation loops and have corrected most of them.

    Can you share a bit more about where you are seeing this? Is this when running our AI Planner samples the "Hello Planner" tutorial or a custom project of yours?
     
  4. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    custom project
     
  5. amirebrahimi_unity

    amirebrahimi_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    389
    In that case, do you have at least 1 trait, 1 action, and 1 plan defined? I believe there is a bug that if not at least 1 of each of those is defined, then it will cause an infinite compilation loop.
     
  6. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    No. The loop happens whenever I enter into play mode or when unity compile scripts.
    I haven't even started using it yet.
     
  7. ikiable

    ikiable

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    okay so I just did the Assets -> Create -> AI -> (create all the definitions listed) and now the infinite loop is gone.

    I can now enter playmode and edit some scripts without worry.
     
    amirebrahimi_unity likes this.
unityunity