Search Unity

1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Question Agent interaction with objects in their environment

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by sunnyCallum, Dec 13, 2023.

1. sunnyCallum

sunnyCallum

Hi there!

I am a third-year Computer Science student using Unity's ML-Agents package for my final-year project. Counterintuitively, I have never studied Machine Learning, which would have been helpful in foresight, but I am doing my best now.

Essentially, I am designing an ML-Agent that resembles a "Sim". Well, in actuality, the agent is a 2D cat. This cat has needs (such as hunger, thirst, boredom, etc) that I am trying to teach to interact with different objects (such as food bowls and scratching posts) to fulfill its needs.

To start, if anyone would like to share any wisdom that will assist me in this topic or suggest any reading, I would greatly appreciate it. I am new to the ML-Agents package and I am learning on the job.

Currently, I have a cat agent and a scratching post. The agent increases its fun need and subsequently receives rewards by standing in proximity to the scratching post, but I believe there is a better way of doing this, as I plan on making visual feedback for the user that the cat is interacting with its environment. Could anyone possibly point me in the right direction as to how to handle this in the logic? If so I would greatly appreciate it.

2. smallg2023

smallg2023

proximity to the reward givers should be fine, could also check facing for extra visual improvements then just animate the cat based on if it's close and facing the object for the interactions