Search Unity

Affinity Photo vs Photoshop

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BrewNCode, Jan 30, 2018.

1. BrewNCode

BrewNCode

So, I just heard of this paid one time photoshop alternative. Do you guys know how i works? Have you used it? I'm not an artist, but I want to know more about this new rising application that is "fighting" against the Adobe monopoly :D.

So, bottom line is: Have you used it and how it is compared/differed from Photoshop?

makaka-org likes this.
  2. Deleted User

Deleted User

I am assuming it works inside of a computer. :p xD

3. GoesTo11

GoesTo11

I've started to run across the name but I don't know much about it. I currently get Photoshop for free with my Lightroom subscription.

4. N1warhead

N1warhead

There is a free trial link at the bottom of their webpage, might can just you know - try it? lol.

angrypenguin and derkoi like this.
  5. Murgilod

Murgilod

I've used Affinity Designer and Photo pretty extensively. Photo is... alright, but honestly, it has some issues with its toolset that makes me want to recommend GIMP over it unless you're using it for illustration purposes. Even against Photoshop it's kinda hard to recommend because Photoshop is like $15 a month now and just such a powerful toolset.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  6. ippdev

ippdev

Looks like a really good app. And you can own it for 50 bucks. I am sold.

Ony likes this.
  7. BrewNCode

BrewNCode

Like I said. I'm not an artist (seriously, I made an abomination trying to recreate a Shinx). For me, at this time in college (Learning Unity, Unreal, 3D programming, mathematics, a game ev project for college, and Blender) putting effort on learning one more thing that I REALLY need to get an acceptable result, is beyond my scope right now. That is why I need opinions from people who have used it to know before if I should buy (ilustration and design are things that I would love to do at least acceptable, but first I'm a programmer for a GOOD reason xD.)