Search Unity

Advice on moving forward: ECS or Event System? Trouble grasping generic event systems...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by johajo, Aug 14, 2018.

1. johajo

johajo

Hello everyone,

First of all, I’m rather new to coding in C# so I apologize if my lingo is wrong here when I explain my situation or if I’m way of in my questioning.

I realise the issue described is kind of vague as it is not a specific problem but more of an advice-situation.

---Some history---
    I’m programming on my free time and have no education in programming. In my first attempts to make a small game (Asteroids clone) I was fairly successful but one major issue was that I did not decouple my game objects so when I tried to expand on the design, I kind of broke it.

So I see the importance of a decoupled design. I started out in making an Event System with delegates and events to register listeners which react to events. I did not use Unity-events but C#-events. I kind of got it to work for one “type(?)” (as in int, float, etc.). In order to get a more versatile event system I tried to make it generic but at this point I kind of feel lost and that I’m not grasping the concepts anymore.

I know there are MANY tutorials on the generic event systems but I do not seem to get it.

I then pursued the route of Unity ECS (Hybrid) and that seemed to work better in my attempt to decouple objects for me – I know the basics and manage to have systems act upon entities (with components on) and so on.

But one thing I noticed when programing a collision system was that it felt like I had to write a lot of functionality which is already in place using the “old way” of coding. I realise that a big reason for this is that the ECS is new and more functionality is coming.
    ---

At the moment, I’m kind of discouraged and wonder which way is the right to go?