Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice on how to structure my turn based RPG?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by CGEworks, Feb 6, 2017.

1. CGEworks

CGEworks

So I’m a newbie dev, I’ve got basic coding skills, I’ve done a few “build a game by following these steps” type tutorials and now I’m looking to tackle my first real project. The game I want to make is a dungeon crawler in the style of x-com, so turn based and using a square grid for movement.

While I’m fairly sure I could cobble something semi-functional together, I’m certain I’d end up with a mess of unmaintainable code because I’ve got no idea how a turn based game should be structured.

A few details about what I’m trying to achieve:

• The game is 3D but uses a square grid for movement (ideally with elevation, but that’s not strictly necessary for the prototype, but it’s probably a good idea to include it from the outset right?)
    • The player controls between 1-6 heroes, fighting a number of AI enemies
    • Each unit (both heroes and enemies) has a number of action points which they can use to move, use a skill, use an item
    • Combat is turn based, with one side taking their turn, then the other side (opposed to a more DnD like system, where turns would be taken simultaneously)
    • Each unit has a race that determines their base stats, a character-class that determines their skills, a level, and an inventory which includes things like weapons, armor and consumables
    • Each skill belongs to one of three skill trees (Warrior, Rogue & Mage, although some skills will probably be universal)
    So there’s two things I really need advice on: first is how do I control my game? Is there a standard way of doing it for turn based games? And how would I go about finding out how other turn based games have handled this?