Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice on hiring freelancers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NandusMasta, Mar 1, 2017.

1. NandusMasta

NandusMasta

Hey everyone. I am a devoted coder, who after more than a year of work in my current project, is about to go look for an illustrator to replace my programmer art; for something pretty to look at. I am self funded and expect to pay for said art, with my hard earned day job money. This is obviously not inconsequential, but it is something I am prepared to do, as my commitment to the project is quite high.

So what I am looking for here and maybe you guys can help me with, is tips, tricks, warnings, anything really; to help me contract freelancers to draw said art for me. What I am most worried about is commitment and copyright issues, when dealing with freelancers, outside of platforms like Upwork or Freelancer.

For example here on the forums or on Devianart, I will probably find one or more persons available for the work and with the budget I need, but I have no known way to officialize the transaction. This is of course beneficial not only to me, but also for the artist, who will have additional assurances; that I will come through on the payment.

Should I only look for freelancers on those platforms or should I use some other means of officializing the transaction? Is this more like overkill and not really needed? Is there something easy to use, for both parties to avoid such problems? Maybe like a contract kit or something, I don't know.

In any case, any tip you can give me in the subject, will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. boxhallowed

boxhallowed

Straight from the mouth of FZD. Here's how you want to do this.