Search Unity

[Advice Needed] Taking a cut of profits, or hourly rate?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RichBosworth, Jul 16, 2012.

?

Which would you recommend?

1. 20% cut of profits

3 vote(s)
    15.0%
  2. £20/hr as an hourly rate

17 vote(s)
    85.0%
  1. RichBosworth

RichBosworth

Hello,

I’m the sole developer on a project designing a 3D Anatomy application for medical students in the UK. I am working for 2 (new) doctors. I’m kind of new to working for other people, and so need a little bit of advice for what payment type I should take.

They say that the product will mostly be purchased by new and current medical students across the country, and that they have a solid marketing strategy in place. There’s no estimates as to how much profit they will make, but they’re selling the product for £1.99 on the App Store. They are offering me 20% cut of the final profits.

Alternatively, they are offering me £20 an hour (I reckon this will take upwards of 100 hours to complete).

So, taking that into account, which do you think would be best for me? Are there any other issues with each of the payment methods? (for example, I think a ‘cut of the profits’ is quite ambiguous. Do I need to get some sort of solid contract in place for this? —> stating terms and conditions that reflect when and how I should be paid?)

I’d really appreciate any advice you can give me, and if you’ve had any experiences with this situation! I've included a poll to see quantitatively which people recommend, but it'd be very helpful to gather qualitative advice.

Thanks,
    Rich

2. TylerPerry

TylerPerry

Well, if you need the money then do the hourly rate but if you don't need it but it would be nice then go the 20% cut.

I would go for the 20% cut personally :D

3. n0mad

n0mad

(Profits are never 100% disclosed, so it's safer to go hourly rate)

4. Farfarer

Farfarer