Search Unity

Advice for setting up hosted game

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Slaghton, Aug 22, 2018.

1. Slaghton

Slaghton

To start off, I decided to get back into learning some basic MySQL/php/multiplayer stuff and have been making some progress which brought up some questions since i'm new to this. Right now I have a short demo where I can enter in a username/password which gets sent to php script(s) and then checks if that username/password is listed in the database. If it succeeds, it sends back a list of characters owned by that user in the database which show up as buttons with the character names and spawns a basic gameobject when clicked (blue capsule for male, pink capsule for female). (in the future, when I initialize client for player i'll load a blank character into world and apply/sync all values during loading from MySQL database)

Now my main question is, what is the usual way people handle hosting all this? Example, I have a website which does allow me a MySQL database where I have been setting up to practice communicating with a remote db. I'm wondering, do I use this web host for my website+MySQL database+php scripts and have a gaming server handle the unity server? Though, to make things as speedy as possible I assume it would be best to have the gaming server/php scripts/database all on the same server/host to cut down on latency. The mysql database on the website is likely more to be used for the website/forums?