Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Advanced Inventory System/Equipment

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by ExDeaDguY, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    free - outdated - learning code.

    Here is a quick Web-Player showing a preview:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6629353/AdvancedInventorySystem.html

    Music not included.

    Purchase This Here:
    -------------------------------NOW FREE BELOW-----------------------------


    ===============----UPDATE JANUARY 2012--------=============
    Hey Guys. Because this was bumped to the top of the forums I have been getting emails and private messages. Just wanted to put it out there that: This is no longer for sale. The site was pulled down and it just isn't in my interest any more to keep it selling. I made this when I was still very new to Unity and JS. It is coded neatly, I just haven't had the time to do much else with it. That being said... I am now going to release it for FREE.

    I appreciate all the interest in this package and am happy to all those who bought it back when it was first released. If you like this and it has helped you out, feel free to drop me a line or leave a post with your experience! Best of luck on all of your projects! .

    As Unity Package:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6629353/AdvancedInventoryPackage.unitypackage
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
  2. Skatt

    Skatt

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    This is pretty sweet, does it group multiples of the same item together though? That's one of the harder issues with an inventory system.
     
  3. joel

    joel

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Posts:
    117
    Love how this turned out Xeno360!
    great stuff.

    @Skatt, group multiples of the same item together? how do you mean?
     
  4. Ethan

    Ethan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    What if i want to drop an item? ;)

    BTW i'd love to see drag drop
     
  5. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Hey! Thanks for the replys!

    @Skatt Do you mean like stacks items? Where Example: 6 position would stack in one place? No it doesnt do that. But it wouldnt be all that hard to add. Ill add it in the next update.

    Also: Item dropping is simple too. Dragging and dropping is the tough one. But im sure i can add that as well.

    If anyone wants to buy this. And then I release an update, I can email the update 2 you! :p.
     
  6. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    I just updated it with stacking! Ta-Da! ^.^
     
  7. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    664
    How do we purchase the advanced system, Xeno360?
     
  8. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Well im looking for somewhere to host it to sell it at. I was trying to get it up on Indie Game Market.. But they havnt accepted it yet or sent me a reply back or anything. So if you wanna purchace it. You can send me a private message letting me know. Then i can reply a paypal account that the payment should goto and i can send the package Ex: Email or Host it on a link. However you would prefer. :p.
     
  9. tbelgrave

    tbelgrave

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Pretty awesome bud, and for the price it's a steal. Well done, I hope you continue to provide this service at these prices. All you need now is a store front.

    ~t
     
  10. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    664
    I purchased this system and it is very well done. The scripts are well commented and you can easily see how he has it set up.

    The advanced shows character clothing change and has several sets of clothing to show how it's done. It works very well.

    Also includes stacked items. I can pick up several of one type of item and they stack in the inventory.

    The only thing I'd like to see next is drag and drop or an item drop.

    I recommend this inventory to any one who needs one. It's very good.
     
  11. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    I updated this, If you have purchased it you will receive the update in the email you provided upon purchase. I do not recommend discarding the old system though. This new system if a lot more complex and can become confusing very quickly! So if you purchase this you will receive Inventory1.0 and Inventory2.0, The difference is "Semi-Dragging and Dropping" Its not perfect-ed yet, But a lot of the code has been re-worked to allow dragging to work. Don't be frightened coding is your friend ^.^.

    Updated the web-player. - Link at top.


    Also: Thank you so much for the comments and feedback! :).
     
  12. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Im gonna give this away for 7 bucks until my shareit account is ready for me to use (2 business days until its verified) and then this goes back up to $10! Read the top post for details on how to purchase! this is a limited time offer!


    Why?:
    Since I don't have a link up yet, I have to keep logging into here to see if I have new private messages for a purchase. Might as well make the time spent worth it! ^.^, And of course, with the purchase you get updates as long as I keep putting them out ^.^
     
  13. GeneralGrant

    GeneralGrant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    977
    I love it when people make stuff cheap. It's what I do, it's what everyone should do.
     
  14. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    664
    Is there a way to drop the items back into the game world?

    Your free version had drop to put it at the player's position, but if you want to place furniture that way (rpg), then collision will be an issue. Maybe an item can be dropped a short distance in front of the player?

    I know your new drag/drop is semifinished.
     
  15. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    @Roys, Yeah. Ill add that in the next update! Its pretty simple to do. Ill have it where you can drag the item out of the inventory and click like on the ground and it will ask "Are you sure you wanna drop this item" or somthing like that ^.^

    Also: If you wanna attempt this yourself. You'd pretty much take the code where i put the item with the player but reverse it ex: Reactivate the renderers, and unparent the item.

    Anyone who bought this: ALSO NOTE... I made a small mistake that will be fixed by the next update. You can fix it on your script if you'd like, Under Item.js scroll down to the function "MoveMeToPlayer()" And the second line of code reads "transform.collider.isTrigger=false;" the false SHOULD read true!! sorry about this mistake. This should def. be fixed or while using this with a character controller the player will walk oddly!
     
  16. mrbdrm

    mrbdrm

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    510
    hi
    if you have any other way than paypal
    i will buy it please .
     
  17. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    664
    Awesome!

    If I see any posts like that or requests for inventories or character clothing changes, I'll plug in your link to promote your work like I do for Tom's Terrain tools. A few weeks from now, people may not see this post and know this exists.
     
  18. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Hi, Wanted to let everyone know that I added a buy link "Finally"! Not sure how it will work. But if anyone is interested, then try and purchase it from there! If any problems occur, send me a private message! :).

    -Check top post to buy link-
     
  19. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Hey, If anyone tried purchasing this from the website in the past few days since it was posted, Sorry :(. It appears the link was broken and preventing buys. But, ITS FIXED. Working 100%!!


    -Eddy
     
  20. leegod

    leegod

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,472
    met 404 error..
     
  21. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503

    :(

    Yeah, Idk whats going on with the site. The guy says he's working on fixing it but idk. If you want you can paypal me like 7 bucks @ Bladeshifter@hotmail.com and then I'd send the package via email to the corresponding email. Or include the email to be sent to into the "Comment" area or something. Idk >.<. Sorry about the problem.
     
  22. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
  23. CrazeDevelopment

    CrazeDevelopment

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Don't shoot yourself D: your wonderful Inventory will die with you! D:!

    Just took a look at it.. pretty awesome dude.. good work :)
     
  24. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Thanks man! I plan on releasing more stuff for cheap prices in the future :). But the damn holidays have me super busy at my real job! lol.
     
  25. Lemon223

    Lemon223

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    hello,

    i just purchased your advanced inventory system/equipment script on the site of your link i payed but i dont get a link with the download or a code for the download area? how can i get my script? i dont know how it works.

    thankyou!

    and thanks for selling your script for this small price the demo is looking very nice!
     
  26. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503


    >.< Well honestly... It's not my site, so I'm not really sure how the download works. But as far as I know, After you purchase it, You should maybe get an e-mail that gives a download link which can be used like 3 times I think. Not sure though. Check your mail box and junk if necessary.
     
  27. Lemon223

    Lemon223

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    hello,

    i still got no email but really need the script to go on. i know you cant do anything about that site but can you email me the script if i give you my email? that would be very nice

    thanks in advance,
     
  28. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    What's your e-mail address? I'll e-mail you it :).
     
  29. Lemon223

    Lemon223

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Posts:
    11
  30. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    Xeno, no payment from Ruben was made on the site!
     
  31. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503


    Oh.....
     
  32. elias_t

    elias_t

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Posts:
    1,367
    Hi. I am working together with _slava on unity3dmall. It seems you made a purchase enquiry but no money was sent from your side ... the transaction is still pending or never happened.
     
  33. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503

    o_O That was my bad I guess... He just got it for free then. I have no way to check if it was really bought or not so I didn't know. But: I received 450 pts on the 27th so idk. thought it was cus of his buy.
     
  34. surfy1h

    surfy1h

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    thanks Xeno for this system,

    tested it out last night, the code is well commented .. For updates will we receive them from the unity 3d mall website ?
     
  35. _Slava

    _Slava

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    authors may update their files on unity3dmall. buyers can download those files 10 times during one year.
     
  36. mattcscz

    mattcscz

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Posts:
    411
    hey man, just brought the package and is real nice especially for the price, you don't seem to find this sort of quality for such price. I paid like $40 for the tornado twins one and i must say it isn't as good as yours! however i do have one question...How would i implment this to be used on my own character? at the moment i get an error when trying to equipt ("Array index is out of range") im sure im missing some triggers or somthing that must be on the character to place items. Ill try to look further into the demo though =)
     
  37. mattcscz

    mattcscz

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Posts:
    411
    Also, any idea why when i drag prefabs from the demo scene into mine they go all weird? heres an image >.<
    $lolprefab.jpg
     
  38. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    LOL no idea. Maybe I set up the prefab messed up. Or... I edited the scale within the model, made the prefab assets. and when you bring them into youre project it might be messing them up. no idea, just rebuild the prefabs. All it is is the item script. the object and a collider or something :p. ALSO the array out of index: What I think is happening is... Youre trying to equip something? I havent had this project opened up in awhile actually but I believe the way equipping works is you specify which spot it equips to on the item scrpt. and there must be an equipment slot specified with the same name in the inventory character screen as well. Also: I'm not sure if I'm allowed to release this information, But I made the inventory for unity prefabs as well! lmao, Put lots more time into that one. But yeah this one is pretty good for a quick and simple solution!
     
  39. mattcscz

    mattcscz

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Posts:
    411
    haha oh really, well it is nice BUT it doesnt support the character equiption, this is why i like this version instead XD, also could you give me some sort of quick quide on how to set up this package so it will work with any character. rather than the one in the demo project :D? im not so good at scripting yet lol
     
  40. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503


    Yeah, Ill explain a bunch below to get you started :).



    Equipment:

    Equiping is done by... Parenting every bone of the armor or whatever to its cooresponding bone on the character. basically the armor piece and the character needs to have the same bone structure and named identically etc.
    So basically.. When making your main character.. when making the armor youd wanna like.. model it OVER the character. remove the character. keep the bones, bind the armor to the bones. (Rig it) save it as the armor file! :p


    the scripts are self explanitory. give the main player the 2 scripts inventory + inventory display. and set the variables the same as the ones in the demo. and then edit them for your own needs :). so yeah that will allow it to work on any character.
     
  41. surfy1h

    surfy1h

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hey I am trying to change the view of the camera to the character, so the camera is behide the character.
    however the character always turns facing the camera on load.. is there a line of code rotating the character ?
     
  42. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503
    Hi, Umm, WASD should rotate the character while in the preview webplayer. If you have bought this: You could position the camera behind the player rather then in front and remove the platform script from the platform :p. (This script contains the lines that makes it rotate)
     
  43. surfy1h

    surfy1h

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    thanks I will try it tonight :)
     
  44. zaczac

    zaczac

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Hi Xeno, I am from Malaysia. I wish to buy the script from you. But how? is the link working?
     
  45. Zu01

    Zu01

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Posts:
    95
    Hehe, what buy this? Not trying to make you loose customers but unitrix has a free version ( I even addad an update :) )
     
  46. zaczac

    zaczac

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    unitrix site?
     
  47. mrbdrm

    mrbdrm

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    510
    hi
    i have bought your script and i have some questions

    how can i check if the player have the item in his inventory ?
    how can i use the item from the inventory ?
    is it possible to remove the confirmation message of droping the item ? how ?
    if i want to for example hold a sword do i have to attach all the bones to the sword or only the needed one like the hand only ?
    thank you
     
  48. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503


    Hi, I don't have the inventory system on this PC at the moment so I cant be 100% sure but here is waht I can answer:

    The items in the inventory are simply gameObjects with thier renderer and what not turned off. And I think the inventory array list is just called "Inventory" so you would go....
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. var myinv=GetComponent(Inventory).inventory
    3. for(var i:Item in myinv){
    4.     //this is where you could check if you have it, Im not sure how your code is set up but you could either compare the items name or compare its transform or something.. lets use the name though.
    5.     if(i.name=="Maser Key"){
    6.         print("I have access to the door because the key is in my inventory");
    7.         //UseItem(i); //This will use the key, or whatever.
    8.         break;
    9.     }
    10. }
    11.  
    There really is so many ways to check if you have the item and also use it. its hard to explain sorry. Anyways you could do something like that just make sure you change the variables and stuff to the right name since I dont have the porject in front of me and cany verify its correct.


    Removing the confirmation button.... Its really not hard... Look through the code and find it, Basically when the player drops the object outside of the inventory it changes a variable to "confirmdrop" or something like that. just take the code from where it asks you to confirm it. copy the part where it moves the item to the ground, delete the part where it asks you to confirm it.

    Sorry man but I cant literally do the project for you if simple tasks like these are hard to do then... Study coding before going any furtherrrrrr!!!!!


    Sword: Just move the swords position to the position of the right hands bone. parent it, and straighten it out. Swords dont have to mimic movement rather then just follow the movement of 1 limb so its not like equipping armor, just parent it to the hand.


    -Eddy
     
  49. konedj

    konedj

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    Xeno360 are you the same of the Inventory GUI tutorial in Design3???
    Great prefab by the way
     
  50. ExDeaDguY

    ExDeaDguY

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    503

    Nope =X. I haven't heard of Design3 before. I have another inventory system through Unityprefabs.com though.

    ^_^