Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Advance unity scripting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nikhil12, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Nikhil12

Nikhil12

Hey guys, I am working as a developer from 1 year. I am self-taught so my coding practices are not so good. To work on that I want to learn advanced techniques and architecture in game development. Are there any unity projects available on GitHub or unity forum or books or just advanced tutorial videos from which I can learn the advanced stuff required to become a good developer.

The main topics I want to learn are :
    1. Game architectures( I mostly implement event-based architecture using the scriptable object)
    2. How to make the code more readable?
    3. Practices which make my code extendable.
    4.Test driven approach. I know tests are important but I have never used them because generally, my projects were really simple.

Any link or suggestion will be helpful
    Thanks in advance

2. Circool

Circool

Lurking-Ninja and Socrates like this.
  3. kdgalla

kdgalla

For your first question, I saw a series of videos that Unity created about creating modular AI using scriptable Objects. Starting with:

There are also videos that cover more-general architecture, but I find the more specific application to be more illustrative

schmosef likes this.
  4. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

I do not believe that “advanced programming video tutorials” exist. If someone has made any, they are likely not advanced or any good.