Search Unity

Ads showing in editor but not on android device

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by ma22be61, May 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ma22be61

    ma22be61

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hi , I have been trying to implement ads in my game since a while.
    They do work great in editor and Unity shows the test ads.Unfortunately , on any mobile device , it doesn't show either test ads nor real ads.
    Things I tried :
    -Forcing real ads in Unity dashboard
    -Initializing in Update()
    -Re-importing Unity ads asset
    -Disabling and enabling ads
    -Made sure am using the right game ID and set the test mode on false ("1235678" , false)
    -Tried different codes , all worked in Editor but none on any android device
    -Made sure I included advertisement in the script
    Can someone give me a clue where I'm going wrong?
     
  2. mikaisomaa

    mikaisomaa

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Posts:
    365
    Can you share your scripts responsible for handling Unity Ads?

    The flow should be this:
    1) Initialise Ads
    2) Wait for them to be ready - Advertisement.IsReady() turns true when you can show ads
    3) Show ads
     
  3. ma22be61

    ma22be61

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Here is the code , I tried to put the Initalize both in Start () and Update().
    Keep in mind the test ads do work fine in the editor.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class adsManager : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     playerStats pSt;
    4.     public GameObject rewardPanel;
    5.     public Text rewardText;
    6.     public Text buttonText;
    7.     public shorthandManager shortener;
    8.  
    9.     void Start()
    10.     {
    11.  
    12.         pSt = GameObject.Find("Player").GetComponent<playerStats>();
    13.      
    14.  
    15.     }
    16.  
    17.     void Update()
    18.     {
    19.         Advertisement.Initialize("MYGAMEID", false);
    20.         shortener.checkVal((pSt.goldCoins * 0.25f), buttonText);
    21.         Advertisement.Banner.Load("banner");
    22.         showBanner();
    23.  
    24.     }
    25.  
    26.     void showBanner()
    27.     {
    28.         Advertisement.Banner.Show("banner");
    29.     }
    30.  
    31.     public void goldAd()
    32.     {
    33.         if (Advertisement.IsReady("rewardedVideo"))
    34.         {
    35.             var showOptions = new ShowOptions();
    36.             showOptions.resultCallback += ResultCallback;
    37.  
    38.             Advertisement.Show("rewardedVideo", showOptions);
    39.         }
    40.     }
    41.  
    42.     private void ResultCallback(ShowResult result)
    43.     {
    44.         if (result == ShowResult.Finished)
    45.         {
    46.             rewardPanel.SetActive(true);
    47.             pSt.goldCoins += (pSt.goldCoins * 0.25f);
    48.             rewardText.text = "CONGRATULATIONS! YOU GOT  " +(pSt.goldCoins * 0.25f) + "  COINS!";
    49.         }
    50.         else
    51.         {
    52.             rewardPanel.SetActive(true);
    53.             rewardText.text = "YOU DID NOT FINISH WATCHING THE VIDEO.";
    54.         }
    55.     }
    56.  
    57. }
     
  4. dlolg

    dlolg

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Posts:
    13
    I have the same problem. Have you been able to solve it?
     
  5. dlolg

    dlolg

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Posts:
    13
  6. SoloOutlaw

    SoloOutlaw

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    I wouldn’t put the initialise in the update.

    Needs only be called once.

    So put it in Start().
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.