Search Unity

addressing mesh renderer of sub-item

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by matzomat, Mar 10, 2018.

1. matzomat

matzomat

Hey guys,

a total noob question I guess.

Setup:
    empty GameObject called "unitPlayer1" with the usual colliders and stuff. Attached to it is the working model and a "Quad" with the name "Selector". I want to show the selector when the unit is selected and hide it, when it's unselected through renderer.enabled. I have a script attached to the emptyGameObject for handling the clicks and it works properly, I confirmed that through debug logs.

My problem is that I have no clue how to find the mesh of the Selector from within that script.
            rend = Selector.GetComponent<Renderer>();

is not working but I want to address the selector specifically and not go through all children. How can I do that?

Thank you in advance.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

To do that, you would need to make a public property of type Renderer on your script. Then, while inspecting the object in your scene with the script on it, grab the Quad from the Hierarchy tab and drag it into this new property on your script.

Then just use that property in your code.

matzomat likes this.
  3. matzomat

matzomat

Thank you for your answer. You mean like:
    public transform renderer;
    ?

In the meanwhile I'm helping myself with this but I don't like it because another "Selector" in some model might cause problems.
    transform.FindChild("Selector").gameObject.SetActive(true);

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Not quite. It should be:
    public Renderer selector;

matzomat likes this.
  5. matzomat

matzomat

Thank you!

successfully implemented by:

public Renderer selectorAnim;
    selectorAnim.gameObject.SetActive(false);

Have a nice weekend.

6. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Well done!