Search Unity

Addressables + Cloud Build: Updating remote resources

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by lloydv, Sep 9, 2019.

1. lloydv

lloydv

I'm new to Addressables and working on a project that builds with Cloud Build.

I was happy to find Addressables already integrated into the dashboard, so I turned the switch on and on my next build there was a package with the remote ServerData to upload. Awesome!

However, in the downloaded zip file there is also a Library/com.unity.addressables/StreamingAssetsCopy/aa/iOS folder and I don't know what the contents are intended for. Is there some documentation on this somewhere?

Also I am very vague on how remote assets can be updated when using Cloud Build, because I don't see anywhere to create or select the magical '.bin' file like in the demo videos.

I hope someone can share their expertise or experience. Thank you.

2. Favo-Yang

Favo-Yang

Here's a tutorial may help in general https://forum.unity.com/threads/demo-tutorial-for-remote-hosting-using-amazon-s3.724022/

It's not well documented. Just known they're settings file (where to load catalog) and local catalog (to load local content) is good enough.

You may possible to upload the bin file and other remote assets of RemoteBuildPath, to your content server in PostExport method of Cloud Build (using Sync IO). There's no example code so far, so please share if you reach there.

You may also fire a ticket to Unity Cloud Build team to ask them adding the feature to download content from RemoteBuildPath, like another zip file from the build panel, or the a link in webhook.

lloydv likes this.
  3. lloydv

lloydv

@Favo-Yang Thank you for the info, now I have a little more direction to work in.

I understand they're settings files, but the fact that they're included with the bundle build makes me think I need them for something. Am I supposed to manually put these files back in the library folder on my machine, maybe?