Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Addressable scene doesn't load on mobile, but does in editor.

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by MichaelTGD, Dec 17, 2019.

1. MichaelTGD

MichaelTGD

I'm fairly new to Unity and C#, but I've been getting my head around it fairly well, until I came across Addressables. It seems like it should be simple, but I can never get it to work properly. I've come very close now, but I'm stuck, and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong at this point.

And sorry for the long post, but I've been stuck for awhile on this, and I just can't figure out where my problem is, so I'm throwing it all out there.

What I'm using:

Unity 2019.3.0f1 & Addressables 1.4.0

Here's what I'm trying to do:
    • I'm making an app for mobile devices, in which the user will select a scene (named after a city) from the main menu. The scenes will be stored remotely on a server, and downloaded and loaded when the user selects one. The scenes are selected by buttons, instantiated based on data from a CSV, which gives the name to label the button, and the addressable name for the scene.

Here's HOW I'm doing it:

• My game scene is set as addressable (as "ZmeerAddressable"). It's set into it's own addressable group with RemoteBuildPath and RemoteLoadPath. I build it with the default build script. When it's complete, I upload it from the ServerData folder to my remote server space. The files have full read permission.

• At this point, I open the Main Menu scene and run it in the editor.Main Menu starts with a button, which when clicked grabs a CSV file, and makes the buttons. This works as intended. When I click the button labeled "Zoetmeer", it does load the correct "ZmeerAddressable" from the network (albeit with pink graphics and shader problems.)