Search Unity

Additive tracks in the timeline

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by emotiontales, May 27, 2017.

  1. kafedrax

    kafedrax

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    update to my prev.

    As i am 10hour noob in Unity, it takes me 3 hour to understand that ILayerable implemented methods invent the ability to ADD LAYER on right mouse clik at the track - and if i use one track and several layers - i get the GLITCH FREE situation.
    As i use pre generated library of clips for every channel value move - unity timeline seems like ideal sequensor with mixed control concept - i can work in raw channel-value control mode (with the ability of visualization in unity in parralel with artnet udp sends to real hardware) , and in the same moment i can place at timeline control events to start some generative algorythms or even send executive commands to stage crew )) . And all of this in sync with sound track and can be precisely adjusted in time.
    I dont know yet how it will work for 1.5 h show and thousands clips on timeline, but Unity is the best that i have in comparision with other sequensors


    Squeazer, Thaaanks !!!
    Unity team - please read this consideration, it's a new market for you, there's not so large effort to implement some features - to get new app fields for Unity.
     
    Squeazer likes this.
  2. BlueSpirit

    BlueSpirit

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    Awesome! Thanks for the script. It's working perfectly on my end. However, it always takes the base layer anim clip's first frame transform position as 0,0,0 even though that frame has a different position value. So it's not taking the transform values as it would on a normal animation track.

    Any ideas on how to get that to work with this script?
     
  3. kafedrax

    kafedrax

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    well...now iam 20hr noob in unity timline )) so....



    here's the another dig in point for me , just to understang TL architecture.


    Aftert that tutorial i decide additive track problem on my own with creating my custom track and clip (but i loose ability of curve editing, not a problem for me) with the following steps.


    1)Create custom clip as editable from GUI parameters holder (may be there's the way to provide "curve asset" to parameter in easy way i don't now yet)
    2)Create custom playable behaviour as runtime parameter acceptor from clip
    3)Create custom track and custom mixer as weighted adder of current playable behavour values
    4) [TRICK POINT] attach to the animated game object script component that working in two phases:
    ph.a) accept calls of some AcceptValueToSumButCheckForFirsTimeCallForCurrentFrame(values) from all track mixers on all tracks ( from override ProcessFrame method of PlayableBehaviour )
    ph.b) in update() method just provide accumulated values to game object
    p.s. also need some state management to prevent value latch effect.

    so i loose curve editing ability , but receive cross track mixing and high level of customization of mixing logic (not only sum)
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2021
    polpota likes this.
  4. npatch

    npatch

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    @seant_unity any update on Additive Layers for Timeline Animation Tracks?
     
    ModLunar likes this.
unityunity