Search Unity

Adding textures to .obj files

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Ranger_DeVill, Oct 2, 2020.

1. Ranger_DeVill

Ranger_DeVill

Hello everyone,

I have a problem with viewing a 3D object which has been given a texture. I would like to clarify that I'm a complete noob when it comes to Unity and adding textures in general, but I was hoping that someone more experienced could help me with that.

So..... here it goes.

I want to create an Android app which displays a 3D object and the user has an option to rotate it and scale it. The idea behind the app is to have a dark background and display a white room (walls + floor) with blue edges in places where planes intersect. Something like the attached image "test.jpg", but ... you know. Actually white :p (thumbnail below).

test.jpg

I've decided that I would do that by having a 3D object and putting a white texture on it, which would be a white square with colored edges.

What I did so far was:

Start a new unity project with a 2D template.

Set up the camera's color to dark and have it as the app's background color.

Create a 3D object in CATIA and save it in Blender as an .obj file.

Import the .obj in Unity and place an instance of it on the canvas.

Create a new material with a legacy-diffuse shader.

Create a texture (thumbnail below)

texture 3.jpg

Select the texture as a target for the shader.

My problem is that the image is ..... ugly (thumbnail below).

test2.jpg