Search Unity

Adding Shadows to Image Effect Shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Agent0023, Jan 5, 2021.

1. Agent0023

Agent0023

I'm very new to Image effect shaders and part of an atmospheric image effect shader I'm working on (adapting, from Simeon's atmospheric shader simeonradivoev/GPU-Planetary-Rendering: GPU atmosphertic scattering and planet generation in Unity 3D (github.com)) I want to cast shadows onto the atmosphere.

Most of the hard work is already done for me thanks to Simeon's great work, but I figured to accomplish this I can take several approaches. My first approach was to add a command buffer to the singular light (directional) in the scene, capturing the shadowmap, and sampling that in my fragment shader using the shadow cascade coordinates. This didn't work out at all and I was disappointed to see that the shadowmask texture that was being sent to the shader from my light was always black (no visible shadows). This is why I suspect this approach didn't work.

Here's my shadow computation code in the frag shader for this approach:

Code (CSharp):
    2.                 float vDepth = distance(_WorldSpaceCameraPos, float4(wpos, 1.));
    3.                 float4 near = float4(vDepth >= _LightSplitsNear);
    4.                 float4 far = float4(vDepth < _LightSplitsFar);
    5.                 float4 weights = near * far;
    6.                 float3 shadowCoord0 = mul(unity_WorldToShadow[0], float4(wpos, 1.)).xyz;
    7.                 float3 shadowCoord1 = mul(unity_WorldToShadow[1], float4(wpos, 1.)).xyz;
    8.                 float3 shadowCoord2 = mul(unity_WorldToShadow[2], float4(wpos, 1.)).xyz;
    9.                 float3 shadowCoord3 = mul(unity_WorldToShadow[3], float4(wpos, 1.)).xyz;
    10.                 float3 coord =
    11.                     shadowCoord0 * weights.x +
    12.                     shadowCoord1 * weights.y +
    13.                     shadowCoord2 * weights.z +