Search Unity

Adding objects into level

Discussion in 'World Building' started by xrm0, Sep 18, 2018.

1. xrm0

xrm0

I'm building a small level which has a golf course.
    Up until now, I'm creating the level in one blender file and importing it in Unity.
    But, as I begin to need some things to be separate gameobjects I'm having difficulties in deciding how to proceed.
    Here you can see the golf course and the hole is where the axis is located.
    Screen Shot 2018-09-18 at 07.46.39.png

The hole gameobject:
    Screen Shot 2018-09-18 at 07.51.30.png

In this case, I see two options and as I'm a noob-level-builder I would like to hear from more experienced people on what's better:
    • Cut a hole in the level mesh (in Blender) to place the hole gameobject in Unity.
    • Merge the hole mesh into the level (in Blender) and in Unity add an empty object at that position with the needed scripts/colliders/etc
    • ?

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

The way I did this for my golf courses is to use the Blender3D boolean modifier to cut out the holes in Blender. That way the golf course surface can be all one contiguous mesh.

See the enclosed .blend file for a golf course with two boolean-cut "live" holes in it, one by a straight cylinder and one by a bevelled cylinder.

Note that I put separate materials on each object (golf course, straight cutter, bevelled cutter), and that I unwrapped all objects fully (just a simple smart unwrap), and finally: I put ALL THREE materials on the course itself, such that when the boolean tool cuts it out, it "paints" the other materials inside the holes.

You can do it all with one material too, but at least the above kinda gives you some flexibility. I colored the materials in Blender but I always reassign new materials in Unity so I can control it more precisely, adjust the shader, etc.