Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Adding a parameter in animator and renaming it wont work

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by Crystalline, Mar 11, 2020.

  1. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    146
    Literally the title.
    If you try to add a new parameter and rename it : IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.(wrapper stelemref) System.Object.virt_stelemref_class_small_idepth(intptr,object)
    and then falls back to the generic name.

    2020.1.0b1
     
  2. F0t0s

    F0t0s

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having the same issue as well. However, I've found a workaround. All you need to do is type the parameter name twice, before refreshing.

    Steps:
    - Add a new parameter, name it and press enter
    - Without refreshing the parameters window, click on the new parameter again and type anything
    - Refresh the parameters window
    - Now the parameter has saved the first name you typed and you can use it as usual
     
  3. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    146
    Thank you so much! It works! :D
     
  4. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    969
    Thanks for this, in the meantime these Animator bugs are rather annoying!
     
  5. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    146
    New unity version. Same bug... So frustrating.
     
  6. Apsuity

    Apsuity

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Also having this issue. Is this being tracked to be fixed for the next beta release?
     
  7. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,303
    If you're able to reproduce this issue, please submit a bug-report as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them. Posting in the forum is not a replacement for a bug-report.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in this forum thread for Unity staff to pick up.
     
  8. hubismic

    hubismic

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same issue with Unity 2020.1.0a25, but it looks fixed in version 2020.1.0b6.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  9. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,298
    b6 should indeed fix the issue.

    From the b6 release notes:
    • Animation: Fixed an issue where renaming an animator parameter via search would rename the wrong animator parameter. (1202172)

    • Animation: Fixed an issue where renaming an animator parameter would print an IndexOutOfRangeException error to the console. (1217845)
     
unityunity