Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Adding a parameter in animator and renaming it wont work

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by Crystalline, Mar 11, 2020.

  1. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    Literally the title.
    If you try to add a new parameter and rename it : IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.(wrapper stelemref) System.Object.virt_stelemref_class_small_idepth(intptr,object)
    and then falls back to the generic name.

    2020.1.0b1
     
  2. F0t0s

    F0t0s

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having the same issue as well. However, I've found a workaround. All you need to do is type the parameter name twice, before refreshing.

    Steps:
    - Add a new parameter, name it and press enter
    - Without refreshing the parameters window, click on the new parameter again and type anything
    - Refresh the parameters window
    - Now the parameter has saved the first name you typed and you can use it as usual
     
  3. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    Thank you so much! It works! :D
     
  4. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,382
    Thanks for this, in the meantime these Animator bugs are rather annoying!
     
  5. Crystalline

    Crystalline

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    New unity version. Same bug... So frustrating.
     
  6. Apsuity

    Apsuity

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Also having this issue. Is this being tracked to be fixed for the next beta release?
     
  7. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,314
    If you're able to reproduce this issue, please submit a bug-report as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them. Posting in the forum is not a replacement for a bug-report.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in this forum thread for Unity staff to pick up.
     
  8. hubismic

    hubismic

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same issue with Unity 2020.1.0a25, but it looks fixed in version 2020.1.0b6.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  9. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,022
    b6 should indeed fix the issue.

    From the b6 release notes:
    • Animation: Fixed an issue where renaming an animator parameter via search would rename the wrong animator parameter. (1202172)

    • Animation: Fixed an issue where renaming an animator parameter would print an IndexOutOfRangeException error to the console. (1217845)
     
  10. MathewRyanWandell

    MathewRyanWandell

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I'm having the same problems isn't there a way to open up the actual whateverfilenameis.controller and edit the text in notepad or something?
     
  11. Andreas12345

    Andreas12345

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    521
    Before you call the bug out, make sure that read/write is enabled!
    upload_2022-5-23_17-58-6.png