Search Unity

Adding a button to specific tiles in a tilemap

Discussion in '2D' started by Safirau, Mar 29, 2020.

1. Safirau

Safirau

Hey guys,

I started learning C# / Unity some months ago, I can fix most of my problems with patchwork-y solutions but I've been stuck with this one for a few weeks and I couldn't find a solution for that anywhere.
    I am trying to make the tiles in my tilemap act like Buttons (or add a button component on them) but I can't select them or add a component in the inspector or elsewhere. I also have no idea how to access a specific tile (wether it is already placed at runtime or beforehand).

I have looked up dozens of topic but none seemed to cover that and I am at a loss of which keywords to use just to look up information on this subject.

Thanks a lot if you have a solution ! :)

2. Lo-renzo

Lo-renzo

Take a look at this:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. var pos = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(Input.mousePosition);
    3. var noZ = new Vector3(pos.x, pos.y);
    4. Vector3Int mouseCell = grid.WorldToCell(noZ);
    5. Debug.Log(mouseCell);
    Here, I get the mouse position in worldspace. Then I convert that into a cellspace position. Now we have the cell that is under the mouse. If you were to put this into an Update loop, you could observed the cell every frame. Note: this script assumes you have access to the Grid component, which is on the parent of your tilemap.

Let's say we want to get a particular Tilemap tile:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. var tileUnderMouse = myTilemap.GetTile(mouseCell);
    3. Debug.Log(tileUnderMouse);
    Here, we use a reference to our tilemap, plugged in from the inspector, to get the tile under the mouseCell. The methods that are used to access, set, and manipulate the tilemap can be found here: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Tilemaps.Tilemap.html