Search Unity

AddForce and AddTorque in DOTS Physics

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by maxzoech, Mar 17, 2020.

1. maxzoech

maxzoech

Hi everyone!

I'm new to DOTS physics but in classic PhysX one could easily add forces to a rigidbody. What is the equivalent for doing this in the new DOTS physics.

Thanks in advance

2. NotaNaN

NotaNaN

In the Unity.Physics.Extensions namespace, there is a 'PhysicsWorldExtensions' class and 'ComponentExtensions' class. Both of these classes contain methods to do common things such as apply impulses in a linear, angular, or linear and angular fashion.

Here's a bit of sample code to help you get started:
    Code (CSharp):
    3. using System.Collections;
    4. using System.Collections.Generic;
    5. using UnityEngine;
    6. using Unity.Physics;
    7. using Unity.Physics.Extensions;
    8. using Unity.Entities;
    9. Unity.Mathematics;
    11. /// <summary> Our simple impulse component. </summary>
    12. [System.Serializable]
    13. public struct ApplyImpulseOnKeyData : IComponentData
    14. {
    15.     public float Force;
    16.     public float3 Direction;
    17. }
    19. /// <summary> Our simple system. </summary>
    20. [UpdateAfter(typeof(Unity.Physics.Systems.EndFramePhysicsSystem))]
    21. public class ApplyImpulseOnKeySystem : SystemBase
    22. {
    24.     protected override void OnUpdate()
    25.     {
    26.         /// Get the physics world.
    27.         // You don't need to do this if you're going to use ComponentExtensions.ApplyLinearImpulse, but I have kept the code in to show you how to do it.
    28.         PhysicsWorld physicsWorld = World.DefaultGameObjectInjectionWorld.GetExistingSystem<Unity.Physics.Systems.BuildPhysicsWorld>().PhysicsWorld;
    30.         Entities.WithoutBurst().ForEach(
    31.         (
    32.             Entity _entity,
    33.             ref PhysicsVelocity _physicsVelocity,
    34.             ref PhysicsMass _physicsMass,