Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Feature Request add version

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by laurentlavigne, Mar 6, 2023.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    Pages in both the old school and the package docu are lacking something very important: the version that the struct/class/method was introduced.
    Unity changes to rapidly that this is essential to find compatible package.
     
  2. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    6,371
    On the normal docs, the version dropdown has "versions with this page" and "versions without this page".

    It's not perfect, as it means that the docs were introduced in that version, rather than the type/member/function, but it's better than nothing. Having actually "version introduced in" is probably going to take a lot of backtracking work if it's not already written down, since somebody would have to manually check everything!
     
  3. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    chemicalcrux and florianBrn like this.
  4. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
  5. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    1. Install https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/greasemonkey/
    2. Click the greasemonkey icon in firefox toolbar, select New User Script
    3. Take raw script source from https://gist.github.com/unitycoder/...274880#file-unitydocsshowfirstversionadded-cs
    4. Paste into user script, Save
    5. Refresh docs page, like https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/LowLevel.PlayerLoop.html

    *might have some bugs still, it doesnt do any error checking..
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2023
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  6. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    nice!!
    upload_2023-3-7_23-53-20.png

    thanks!

    (it's called tampermonkey on brave)
     
  7. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    ok, so the same script runs there without modifications needed? good to know.

    for the original request,
    unity could literally just add few lines of code, to do the same from their side..
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  8. Hotarusan7

    Hotarusan7

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Nice. Thanks
     
  9. jetmagazine

    jetmagazine

    Joined:
    May 28, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    nice it's working.
     
  10. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
  11. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473