Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Add transform from one rig to another

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Ed_Muel, Jul 29, 2020.

1. Ed_Muel

Ed_Muel

Hi,

I have two character models that are humanoid and work with the same animation set. However, one model works much better, the weapon animation ties in with the arm movements much slicker. I checked and it was custom made to work with that animation set and includes a transform to put the weapon in to which is then animated rather than rely on just the hand movements.

The transforms are not the same, and this additional weapon transform is not humanoid so doesn't show up in any avatar configurations... Tbh I'm not even sure what it is or how it got there but I am very new to the whole animation process.

Does any one know a way of transferring the additional transform from one rig to the other and have it pick up the animations, I've obviously tried just hacking it in there but no animation happens, from what I can tell it's just a normal transform...

Thanks

PolygonPros likes this.
  2. StefanTomov

StefanTomov

If I understand your question correctly, the problem is that the second character's sword isn't animating properly?
    Ok, if that's the case here are some questions for you -

- Are the characters using the same rig (same bone structure)?
    - Is the weapon of each character bound to an extra bone (an extra control in the skeleton e.g. Left_Hand_Bone or Left_Grab_Bone?
    - Is the weapon, instead, not bound to any bone and you just positioned it in the hand position and bound it to the hand joint in Unity?

Hope those questions make sense. Answering them will help me understand you problem.