Search Unity

Add constraints to effectors and baking constrained animation?

Discussion in 'Animation Rigging' started by Ward_L, Feb 22, 2020.

1. Ward_L

Ward_L

Hi, I just started playing around with the Animation Rigging Package and I'm trying to see if I can use it to edit animations and animate characters from scratch directly in Unity instead of using Maya or Blender.

What I am trying to do at the moment is the following steps:
    -Get effectors to follow an already existing animation
    -Bake the motion of the effectors
    -Have the bones follow the effectors baked motion

But I am stuck at the first step. Is there a way for effectors to be constraint to an animated skeleton?

As for the next step, I can probably just write a simple script that keys the effectors every frame, with the option to remove the constraint afterwards.

Here's a gif done in Blender that shows what I am looking to achieve. EduardoAnimToolsTest.gif

If it is not yet possible, I would love to see this feature added in some way in the future.
    Thank you for your time.

2. Jebtor

Jebtor

Unity Technologies

Hey, this is a perfect time to be asking these questions :)