Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for your feedback on the platforms you use and how you use them. Let us know!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Activate virtual camera keeping the same rotation

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Mars91, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. Mars91

    Mars91

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    335
    Hi,
    Everytime I go back to my freelook camera the camera goes back to the old position/rotation when I first switched to my static follow camera.
    Is possible to keep the current position rotation?
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,408
    You'll have to give some more details about what you're doing.
    FreeLook sets its axis values according to the input channels specified in their Axis structures.
    Those input values are read while the vcam is live.
    What is the nature of your "static follow camera"? Does it read user input? Maybe you could show some inspector images?
     
  3. Mars91

    Mars91

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    335
    Hi,
    Here a couple of screenshot for both cameras and a video

    Video:
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WwUl4Qs6x5rrM_lDADYEaP699KMSfGSK

    Pic:
    FreeLock: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1LMYJzTymIxAlZxkrxwDNqIcBUDCkdkTo
    Static: https://drive.google.com/open?id=10GIYD9p6BC_f-3-I69b8kf3bsiiqKvg7

    FreeCamInspector.png
    StaticCamInspector.png
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,408
    Thanks for that.

    It's still a little unclear to me, but I can hazard a guess (future reference: it is helpful is to enable the "Debug Text" checkbox on the Brain - then I can tell which vcam is active when).

    I'm guessing that the TrackedDolly vcam is active when he's going on the ladder, and that you don't like it when the FreeLook remembers its position from when it was last active, because that makes uncomfortably large blends. You would prefer if the FreeLook picks up where the TrackedDolly leaves off. Is that right?

    If so, try enabling "Inherit Position" in the FreeLook.
     
    Mars91 likes this.
  5. Mars91

    Mars91

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    335
    That completely solved my problem.

    Another quick questions:
    How can I set the maximum distance from the player/object for a free look camera? Should I edit the various orbits radius to achieve the desired effect?
    Input Axis Name can be any axis I set in the InputManager? I'm asking that because the game will be ported to console too and I will change axis on runtime depending on platform.
    Thank you
     
  6. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,408
    Yes.

    Yes.