Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Achieving the Dream

Discussion in 'Unity Connect' started by WhendricSo, Jan 21, 2018.

1. WhendricSo

WhendricSo

I know that a lot of people are frustrated with Connect, but instead of piling on I would like to share my story with the Unity community and development team, and explain why these new changes are so devastating to so many people's companies and offer an olive branch to the developers. I want to help, for all of us.

Tech Drone's Story

I started my game development career as many do: on a dream. I was a pizza delivery driver by night and I would spend many of my days making games in Game Maker or Microsoft XNA.

In November 2010 I discovered the Kongregate Unity contest, and as a result I learned about Unity. This new engine was a huge step-up from XNA, which I was using to create a first-person shooter game engine so that I could pursue my latest and most ambitious project: Attrition

After downloading Unity and messing around with the terrain editor for a few hours, I was hooked. It was so easy to import models, animate, and build a scene. The idea of prefabs and components was very intuitive. I went home and read the documentation for hours. I was totally blown away by the capabilities of this powerful game engine.

I read the documentation for two days, start to finish, and I also read most of the scripting reference. After the end of the third day I programmed my first script in C#: a flying infantry controller. My close friend, Craig, started making a character model and over the next few weeks he learned to animate in Blender.

The work didn't stop there, and by Febuary I decided that I was going to drop out of college, quit my "day job" and start a game development studio. On Feb. 11, 2011 I met with a lawyer and Tech Drone was born!