Search Unity

Accurate Animation

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Sygata, Oct 24, 2013.

1. Sygata

Sygata

I am new to unity and am attempting to put together a runner game. I have been experimenting with Mecanim animations and to me it seems that they do not turn very accurately. From some Mecanim projects I have a plant and turn 90 degrees animation and a run animation. However, when I transition between them I can never get exactly a 90 degree turn.

Do I need to tinker with my transitions to achieve 90 degrees? Or can that type of precision not be obtained?

If it can't how can I go about designing a runner gamer with this inaccuracy using Mecanim; by not using root motion? Or is this something I should do using the legacy system.

Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
  2. Sygata

Sygata

Here is a rar of my project.

It contains a basic scene with blocks.
    My animator is called bob...
    There are two models in there both with prefabs for a simple drag and test for anyone to see.
    The default model the one for which the animations are made.
    The spikey model is from unity forums.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/eprq6se1wi5a9ok/Yuriy Run.rar

3. Sygata

Sygata

I have created a character control that handles the movement and mecanim handles the animation with root motion turned off.

4. Pirs01

Pirs01

What do you mean by "root motion turned off. " exactly?
    Do you have your Root Transform Rotation property Based Upon set to original? I think you should so that Mecniam uses the orientation as defined in animation clip.

Here's a doc on this: http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/RootMotion.html

I am trying to figure all this out my self so please do share whatever you learn in the process of fixing this.

5. Sygata

Sygata