Search Unity

Question Accidentally Mixing Pro and Personal Unity Licenses

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by TRooster, Jul 9, 2022.

1. TRooster

TRooster

Hey guys! I've done a lot of digging around regarding info on using multiple licenses, but a lot of the threads I found seem kinda old and none of them quite address my worries, which are admittedly weirdly specific.

So, I'm a professional developer working for a small company from home, and we use Unity to develop apps quite often. I created a separate account to work for them, and they purchased that account a seat on their organization for Unity Pro. That's the license I use when working.

However, I have a number of personal projects, too, and I work on those using a free license on my personal account. Now that I have two accounts with their own respective licenses, getting things rolling has become a bit more complicated. In an effort to respect Unity's terms, I --

1. Return my pro license
    2. Log out of my professional account
    3. Log in to my personal account
    4. Activate a personal license

-- every time I want to work on a personal project. I'm aware that right now, this is one of the only ways to use multiple licenses on one machine, and unfortunately, I'm not currently in a position to acquire a second computer to make this easier. :(

Thing is, I can be a bit of a space case, and though it's hard for me to recall any specific instances of doing so, I worry about times where I might've forgotten to switch the licenses when opening personal projects, thus doing work on them while using Unity Pro without realizing until I'm 3-4 hours in.