Search Unity

Accessing float array in a shader.

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Coko_97, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Coko_97

Coko_97

Hello. I am very new to shader programming within unity and was wondering if there were anyone who could give me pointers or good sources on accessing a float array stored in a script in a shader? I want to manipulate the vertex colour according to the value in the array in that position (x,y,z). The numbers in the array are random between 0 and 1.

This is my data being created:

arr = new float[xSize, ySize, zSize];

for (int x = 0; x < xSize; x++)
    {
    for (int y = 0; y < ySize; y++)
    {
    for (int z = 0; z < zSize; z++)
    {
    float number = Random.Range(0.0f, 1.0f);
    arr[x, y, z] = number;

}
    }
    }
    Any help would be amazing, I have been trying to search this for days but have had no luck.
    Thanks in advance!

2. bgolus

bgolus

Generally speaking you don't use multidimensional arrays in HLSL. Some APIs support them, but Unity doesn't provide a way to set them. Instead you'll want to flatten your array out into one long single dimension array, or alternatively you could pack your data into a 3d texture or texture array.

For a single dimension array you'd want to make an array that is float[xSize * ySize * zSize]. Accessing the data in the array from the shader would then be done using something like:

valueArray[x * (ySize * zSize) + y * (zSize) + z];

Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
    ImOneIvan likes this.
  3. bgolus

bgolus

Oh, and because you probably also want to know this, to allow shaders to access arrays, or any value, you have to manually pass that data by setting it on the material being used with one of the Set*() functions, or using the Shader.SetGlobal*() functions.

For example, for a float array:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Material.SetFloatArray.html
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Shader.SetGlobalFloatArray.html