Search Unity

Accessing BlobArray in Component from System = Uninitialized Values

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by DennisWardAltair, Aug 19, 2019.

1. DennisWardAltair

DennisWardAltair

I'm trying to simulate spheres moving along a high-resolution polyline (containing from 1000 to 5000 positions and a time value). There will be many spheres moving along each polyline (around 30 or so), and I want to update the position of the sphere along the path of the polyline. I've tried to structure my code such that each particle component will reference polyline data (without success!). I'm a noob at both Unity and ECS, and I'm having trouble setting this up: I created a BlobAssetReference and placed the polyline data in it, and I've referenced that data in each component as shown below for testing:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public struct SphereComponent : IComponentData
    2. {
    3.     public int idx0;
    4.     public int idx1;
    5.     public float currentTime;
    6.     public BlobArray<Vector3> pl_pos;
    7.     public BlobArray<float> pl_time;
    8. }
    10. public struct PolylineData
    11. {
    12.     public BlobArray<Vector3> pos;
    13.     public BlobArray<float> time;
    15.     public static BlobAssetReference<PolylineData> ConstructPolyline()
    16.     {
    17.         BlobBuilder blobBuilder = new BlobBuilder(Allocator.Temp);
    18.         ref StreamlineData root = ref blobBuilder.ConstructRoot<PolylineData>();
    20.         BlobBuilderArray<Vector3> positions = blobBuilder.Allocate<Vector3>(ref root.pos, 5);
    21.         BlobBuilderArray<float> times = blobBuilder.Allocate<float>(ref root.time, 5);
    23.         positions[0] = new Vector3(0.1f, 1.2f, 0.2f);
    24.         positions[1] = new Vector3(1.1f, 2.2f, 0.3f);
    25.         positions[2] = new Vector3(0.5f, 3.2f, 0.2f);
    26.         positions[3] = new Vector3(0.3f, 4.2f, 0.1f);
    27.         positions[4] = new Vector3(0.7f, 5.2f, 0.0f);