Search Unity

Access SpriteRenderer property: sprite in Timeline (using the Wizard)

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by pleasantPretzel, Aug 25, 2018.

1. pleasantPretzel

pleasantPretzel

Hello :)

I would like to create a custom Timeline track for the SpriteRenderer Component. My goal is to access the 'sprite' property. I would like to create clips in the Timeline track, and in those clips, be able to edit which sprite is being displayed by the SpriteRenderer.

I've attached a screenshot below which shows the accessible properties of the SpriteRenderer binding. Why isn't the sprite property available here? I'm a bit of a novice so please bear with me if I'm misunderstanding something fundamental about sprites and/or the way Playables work.

**My current solution is to use an animation track and to record my sprite edits in the inspector, but I would like try another route if possible.

Thank you for your time!! :)

Screen Shot 2018-08-25 at 5.58.15 PM.png

2. JamesB

JamesB

Unity Technologies

@slufter Hello there!

From your screenshot I can see you have selected Standard Blend Playable. This a special type of timeline track/playable that the wizard can create that automatically writes all the code for you and blends the properties you give it. The drawback is that only some properties can be blended, floats, Vector3s, etc. If you wish to make a playable with the Sprite property you will need to make a normal track/playable by unselecting the Standard Blend Playable check box. This type of playable you will need to complete yourself as only the boilerplate is provided.

I hope this helps.

3. pleasantPretzel

pleasantPretzel

@JamesB Thank you, James! Yep, that helps, I now see why the Sprite property wasn't included in the Wizard.

I'll make a custom playable and maybe hop back in here if I come across any major issue. Thanks again!

4. pleasantPretzel

pleasantPretzel

@JamesB or anyone else who may be able to help,