Search Unity

Accelerometer input, Is Kinematic and OnCollisionenter

Discussion in 'Physics' started by RHD, Aug 28, 2016.

1. RHD

RHD

Hi,

I'm not a coder, I'm from the Art side, so please be patient.

I'm trying to use the accelerometer on IOS to steer a ship, this only works with the script I'm using if I have "is Kinematic" checked which I have verified from the documents.

The problem then becomes how to get it to crash when it hits things because OnCollisionEnter doesn't work with "Is Kinematic".

This is the C# script I have for the Accelerometer:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. public class AccelerometerInput : MonoBehaviour {
    4.      // Use this for initialization
    5.      void Update () {
    6.          transform.Translate(Vector3.forward * Time.deltaTime);
    7.          transform.Translate(Input.acceleration.x, 0, -Input.acceleration.z);
    8.          }
    10. }
    and this is the JS script for the collisions:

Code (JavaScript):
    1.  #pragma strict
    2. function Start () {
    3.    // Plays the reload animation - stops all other animations
    4.   animation.Play("Fly fast", PlayMode.StopAll);
    6.   }
    8. function OnCollisionEnter(col : Collision)
    9. {
    10. if(col.gameObject.name == "Bat_Death")
    11. {
    12. animation.wrapMode = WrapMode.Once;
    13. animation.Play("Death", PlayMode.StopAll);
    14. yield WaitForSeconds (.8);
    15. Application.LoadLevel("StartWindow");
    16. //audio.PlayOneShot(AudioClip);
    17. }
    18. }

Weirdly it seemed to work for a while, but I have no idea why and I do gather it isn't supposed to.

It certainly isn't now.

What is the simplest way to steer the ship with the accelerometer on an IOS device and still have the ship hit obstacles?

Thank you.

2. DroidifyDevs

DroidifyDevs

1: Why are you mixing JS and C#? Just do everything in C#.